Chorizo and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
The only way to go is to use Basque (instead of Mexican) Chorizos. They are very hard to find but Gem Meat Packing Company in Boise Idaho makes the best and most authentic chorizos that they will ship all over the country. Every Basque like me knows exactly where to get them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was easy to make and very colorful. I made the chorizo w/ onions and peppers (added some butter) and put it on a bed of rice with a small ladle of black beans on top. It was rather bland until we put some green Tabasco on it. It came alive with the low heat jalapeno flavor. Everyone wanted more. It's on the favorite dinner rotation now. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bud Mc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
If you substitute almost everything it is tasty as can be...I cooked the chorizo with diecd peppers and red onions...added a drained can of diced tomatoes with jalapeno, and a drained can of black beans and I threw a hand full of low fat grated cheese at the end....now that was good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I thought this was kinda meh, and Husband didn't like it much at all (and he'll eat anything). Needed a lot of tweaking to make it flavorful, and even then it was pretty mediocre. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I thought this was not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlantic, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I prefer to use canned pinto beans OR homemade slowcooker beans over the baked beans and I omit the bell peppers, adding ortega peppers instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyArndt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
eh, not that great...tasted like baked beans with a hint of chorizo-- nothing too exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
excellent change of pace for chorizo. The slightly sweet flavor of the beans compliments the spicy chorizo taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States