Chorizo Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Excellent! When stuffing peppers, I cut the green stem just even with the pepper, then cut off the bottom of the pepper for the opening - they stand up better when baking. Of course, they still must be cleaned out. I used red,yellow and orange peppers for stuffing and the taste was just wonderful. Next time, I'll use green peppers as I believe it will taste just as good, and be a prettier presentation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Absolutely fantastic! I did a few things differently though. One, in order to make it spicy I minced two green Serrano peppers and added it in with the other herbs. This is pretty spicy so if you want some spice but not a lot, I'd only put in one. Second, I accidentally grabbed fresh cilantro at the store instead of basil. I added half of the bushel and it was fabulous. Lastly, when I cut off the tops of the bell peppers, I trimmed them up and and diced up the excess and added that in with the veggies also. I don't usually try new recipes unless they've had a lot of high ratings but the combination on herbs, spices and meat sounded so wonderful and I was NOT disappointed. You will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babzil
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Wow! Truly amazing! I used red bell peppers and different cheeses and it came out looking, smelling and tasting wonderful. I didn't see what the tomato sauce poured over it would do other than spread out in a thin layer at the bottom of the baking dish, so I gave that a miss. Also, accidentaly cooked the rice seperately before adding it to the sauce (also used a bit more than called for) but it worked fine. I would definitely not cut down on the amount of cheese added to the mixture as it gives it a great texture, and of course flavour. You can play around with this dish using different kinds of cheese. Will definitely make it again. It's so good I actually want to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
These are so good! I didn't change a thing. Lots of flavor! Thank you for this unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
these were the best stuffed peppers i have ever had in my life i havnt had one person not love and i mean love these peppers when i made them they are awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
We LOVED this dish!! I used soyrizo in place of the chorizo. I also had some left over couscous so I used that in place of the rice. This was so yummy! I'll definitely be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spankyleatherlips
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Fun recipe and most excellent!! I used the Chorizo along with Dirty Rice and added mixed veggies and a medium salsa. (pre cooked then stuffed) thank you so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spankyleatherlips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I have used this recipe several times and love it. The only change I've made is to add ground pork. Chorizo can be too fatty on its own and the pork helps absorb the fat and hold the shape of the pepper. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These were terrific! I made a couple of adjustments based on other reviews. I added 1 lb ground venison; used the tops of bell peppers and minced them and added; instead of just rice, I used a box of Jambalya Zatarains I had on hand and I used a mexican cheese blend. This dish really has complex, interesting, international flavor. Excellent! Thanks for a new fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Wow, fantastic recipe! I used a high-quality Portuguese Chourice (can buy hot or regular; I use regular). This sausage is dense and meaty, so I cut it into small chunks. With 6 huge peppers, though, there was no way one pound of meat would fill them, even with rice. So, I doubled the filling, using one pound of very lean ground beef with the one pound of sausage. Used diced canned tomatoes rather than whole, dried spices (added oregano, too), and extra Worcestershire sauce. I bake my peppers in a large Dutch oven with a lid. It perfectly holds 6 (semi-cooked) bell peppers upright. After you parboil the peppers for 5 minutes, place them (cooled) into your dutch oven. They’re so easy to fill this way. Any big, heavy pot will work. Triple the tomato soup, so that you have extra to serve on the side – and add about 1 Tbs. or more of Worcestershire sauce to the soup for better flavor. You only need about one-half inch of the soup mixture at the bottom of the pot when you bake the peppers (I baked mine for about 40 min). Next time, I will use 2 lbs. of the Chourice and omit the ground beef, to see which version we like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States