Chorizo Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Absolutely fantastic! I did a few things differently though. One, in order to make it spicy I minced two green Serrano peppers and added it in with the other herbs. This is pretty spicy so if you want some spice but not a lot, I'd only put in one. Second, I accidentally grabbed fresh cilantro at the store instead of basil. I added half of the bushel and it was fabulous. Lastly, when I cut off the tops of the bell peppers, I trimmed them up and and diced up the excess and added that in with the veggies also. I don't usually try new recipes unless they've had a lot of high ratings but the combination on herbs, spices and meat sounded so wonderful and I was NOT disappointed. You will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Excellent! When stuffing peppers, I cut the green stem just even with the pepper, then cut off the bottom of the pepper for the opening - they stand up better when baking. Of course, they still must be cleaned out. I used red,yellow and orange peppers for stuffing and the taste was just wonderful. Next time, I'll use green peppers as I believe it will taste just as good, and be a prettier presentation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babzil
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Wow! Truly amazing! I used red bell peppers and different cheeses and it came out looking, smelling and tasting wonderful. I didn't see what the tomato sauce poured over it would do other than spread out in a thin layer at the bottom of the baking dish, so I gave that a miss. Also, accidentaly cooked the rice seperately before adding it to the sauce (also used a bit more than called for) but it worked fine. I would definitely not cut down on the amount of cheese added to the mixture as it gives it a great texture, and of course flavour. You can play around with this dish using different kinds of cheese. Will definitely make it again. It's so good I actually want to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
These were ok but, as written, I thought the filling was very thin and pretty bland. I added more seasoning - cayenne pepper, garlic powder, lots and lots of freshly ground pepper - which improved the flavor, but I wish I had used ground beef along with the chorizo for more flavor, and to improve the texture. Some tomato paste wouldn't have hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I modified this recipe quite a bit; I used ground beef instead of the chorizo and made a batch of mexican rice instead of plain rice and added it to the mixture using the rest of the ingredients in recipe and it turned out GREAT! Even had leftover filling that I made chili rellanos with the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Used ground beef and added some chili powder, cumin and cayenne pepper. My husband and coworkers loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I can't give this 5 because I didn't stick to it fully. However, it was an excellent starting point. Beware when buying chorizo... if you don't have access to a mexican buthcher shop that makes it's own, buy the best quality stick chorizo you can find. Make sure it looks more like sausage and less like ground to a pulp...something! Those ground tubes cook up to highly salted mush and are over 1/2 grease! I had already make a gulf coast style rice so I mixed that in with the cooked chorizo, carrots and tomato. Since my rice was already seasoned with garlic & onion, I didn't add more. Mixed in a heaping handful of Chuhuahua cheese instead of the mix suggested. Very delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Really good. The grocery store was running short on green bell peppers. Red peppers work well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Klaulis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
These were very good. My husband and kids loved them...I made them with homemade chorizo which I highly reccomend I use Anne's homemade chorizo from this site its simple and quick to make. Instead of mixing the cheese in with the filling I spooned some filling into the pepper put in a layer of cheese spooned in more filling and topped with cheese that way it had a nice cheesy center. The only thing I will do differently next time is cook the rice first and stir it in when the meat mixture is done....Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Instead of the uncooked rice, I used some leftover rice and adjusted the liquids used. This recipe wasn't spicy enough for me. Although I only used cheddar cheese (didn't have the others), I would probably use pepper jack to kick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States