Chorizo Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Wow, fantastic recipe! I used a high-quality Portuguese Chourice (can buy hot or regular; I use regular). This sausage is dense and meaty, so I cut it into small chunks. With 6 huge peppers, though, there was no way one pound of meat would fill them, even with rice. So, I doubled the filling, using one pound of very lean ground beef with the one pound of sausage. Used diced canned tomatoes rather than whole, dried spices (added oregano, too), and extra Worcestershire sauce. I bake my peppers in a large Dutch oven with a lid. It perfectly holds 6 (semi-cooked) bell peppers upright. After you parboil the peppers for 5 minutes, place them (cooled) into your dutch oven. They’re so easy to fill this way. Any big, heavy pot will work. Triple the tomato soup, so that you have extra to serve on the side – and add about 1 Tbs. or more of Worcestershire sauce to the soup for better flavor. You only need about one-half inch of the soup mixture at the bottom of the pot when you bake the peppers (I baked mine for about 40 min). Next time, I will use 2 lbs. of the Chourice and omit the ground beef, to see which version we like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These were terrific! I made a couple of adjustments based on other reviews. I added 1 lb ground venison; used the tops of bell peppers and minced them and added; instead of just rice, I used a box of Jambalya Zatarains I had on hand and I used a mexican cheese blend. This dish really has complex, interesting, international flavor. Excellent! Thanks for a new fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I have used this recipe several times and love it. The only change I've made is to add ground pork. Chorizo can be too fatty on its own and the pork helps absorb the fat and hold the shape of the pepper. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spankyleatherlips
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Fun recipe and most excellent!! I used the Chorizo along with Dirty Rice and added mixed veggies and a medium salsa. (pre cooked then stuffed) thank you so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spankyleatherlips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
We LOVED this dish!! I used soyrizo in place of the chorizo. I also had some left over couscous so I used that in place of the rice. This was so yummy! I'll definitely be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
these were okay. My hubby hates bell peppers so I used poblano's instead. which was a great idea. However the filling was not as good as I hoped, it was bland. I thought it was okay, hubby didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I really enjoyed the flavors in this, but the rice didn't have quite enough time to cook. I think next time I will cook it seperately and then add it to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
i made two with soyrizo and two with real chorizo. the soyrizo ones turned out awesome!! the chorizo peppers weren't quite as impressive, but were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unix_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
recipe sounds very good. I bought chorizo yesterday and was looking for a good recipe. The only thing I would change is the canned tomato soup (high in sodium). Instead, I would use a nice low-sodium tomato sauce. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliana07

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This was a big hit with my family! The combination of the spicy filling and the sweet bell pepper is GREAT! I made some small changes (things I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Vaughn, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States