Chorizo Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I had to change a few thing I only did half chorizo and half ground turkey. I also added corn and used fresh tomoato's and herbs.I only had 5 small bell peppers from my garden so i used the rest of the mixture in a zuchinni squash(seeded) it was so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Delicous!!! Love Chorizo Sausage. I made one substitution, due to not having a can of whole peeled tomatoes by error. I substituted with 1/2 spaghetti sauce and 1/2 Classico Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto to equal amount requested. Great substitution, Great Flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I used ground beef instead of chorizo. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
These were very good. My husband and kids loved them...I made them with homemade chorizo which I highly reccomend I use Anne's homemade chorizo from this site its simple and quick to make. Instead of mixing the cheese in with the filling I spooned some filling into the pepper put in a layer of cheese spooned in more filling and topped with cheese that way it had a nice cheesy center. The only thing I will do differently next time is cook the rice first and stir it in when the meat mixture is done....Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
We loved it, thank you, but had to make quite a few revisions due to what we had on hand. I had brown rice which takes about 45 minutes to cook. Instead of sauteeing anything with the chorizo I just threw it all in the rice water. I had no celery or basil or diced tomatoes so I used a can of Rotel tomatoes to kick it up a notch. I also had no jack so I used pepper jack. The chorizo was a homemade, very flavorful and little grease. I topped with Ragu sauce instead of tomato soup. My husband has been a cook for 35 years and when I asked him if there was anything that he would change he said no. It was good just the way it was. So thank you very much. It was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I thought this was ok. I thought the stuffing was somewhat bland. Next time I will follow the advice of another reviewer and use Chihuahua cheese and Mexican style rice. Also I really think this needed more rice. At least twice as much in my opinion. Maybe add some cumin as well. Not sure what the tomato soup poured over the top was supposed to do, I didnt think it added anything to the recipe. I will omit next time. I did like the pepper and chorizo combo flavor and I do think this recipe is worth making again, just with some modifications. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
The best stuffed peppers that I've ever had! That said, I wish they hadn't taken quite so long to prepare. In addition to the chopping and what not, I had to simmer the filling for at least twice as long as the recipe said before the rice was properly cooked. Some day when I have a lot of time on my hands (will such a day ever come?), I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Knifton
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I'd been looking for a recipe to use for chorizo besides adding eggs for breakfast. This is delicious! A little spicy and lots of veggies make it perfect for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Knifton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Very good, and very flavorful! I used dried basil and also added some fresh cilantro. I also used Brick cheese instead of the mixture of cheeses. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
A great stuffed pepper recipe that was enjoyed by all. I've never found the need to par boil or pre-cook my peppers, so they went into the oven as is, however, I do cover the dish with foil and make sure there's plenty of liquid on the bottom of the pan. I added more seasonings than called for and used my food processor to make the sausage finer. Terrific and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States