Chorizo Breakfast Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Excellent breakfast burrito! I always cook the chorizo sausage and drain it to avoid a bunch of grease and cook the eggs and onions separately. I also have a non-stick pan so no need for cooking spray. These were so good, especially with some salsa on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I've been making these for a long time without a recipe...and they are definitely a fan favorite. I have found there are a few tips to avoiding a greasy mess. 1. Drain the chorizo a bit. and 2. push the chorizo off to one side of the pan and scramble the eggs by themselves and then mix them with the chorizo. This helps keep chorizo from muddying up the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Thought this would be like what I got back home in Texas. These were good, but not "eggy" enough for me. I will make these again, but use more eggs next time, as I want a more of a scrambled egg type burrito. This was all meat, like no egg at all in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
very good, but be sure to use "beef" Chorizo as the pork kind is a bit too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Tasty recipe. This was the first time I had used chorizo so I wasn't sure how long to cook. This isn't the prettiest dish but it tasted good. I used canned diced green chiles as a timesaver. Will make again. Served with a potato/onion side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I used beef chorizo. Added another egg. Didn't use any peppers, family doesn't like spiciness, BUT I DO ~sigh~. Did fry up some potatoes to add to the burrito mix....yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
These are very good! I changed it up a little by making more of a quesedilla by using Pam and grilling the tortilla and adding the chorizo, egg and some cheddar/jack cheese. Yummy!! My kids really enjoyed this for Sunday breakfast. They are quesedilla addicts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
So so so good! Just the way I like them. The proportions were exactly right! I made them for my husband to take to his co workers ( and of course some for me too) everyone enjoyed them!!! Be sure to not get cheap chorizo. I got mine from a great butcher. Get quality and you will taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Store didn't have chorizo, so I substituted sage ground sausage. I drained is as other reviewers have suggested. I also used a yellow onion, 1/2 c red bell pepper & 1 clove of garlic. Also used a 4 oz can of green chiles, drained and chopped. I liked it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeperathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Okay, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States