Chorizo Breakfast Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I used this recipe as a reference and went my own way. I cooked a yellow onion and garlic in the pan with the chorizo and added a chopped orange pepper, a can of Rotel, a can of seasoned black beans (drained), and chopped green chiles from a can (I have found that buying the whole chiles and chopping them yourself is REALLY easy, and has much better texture and flavor) and fresh cilantro that I had leftover. I fried eggs separately, warmed corn tortillas in the oven and served it open face topped with over easy eggs, Queso Fresco & salsa, INCREDIBLE and not that much more work. With my leftovers I cracked 4 eggs directly into the mixture and scrambled it all together in the pan, wrapped up individual burritos with cheese (in flour tortillas that keep better without cracking) and stored them in the fridge. They've been amazing reheated in the morning. Just 1 keeps me full until lunch easily. It's so nice having a quick and nutricious breakfast in the car on the way to work. 1 minute in the mircowave wrapped in a paper towel. Glorious! I hope this long read was worth it for at least 1 person :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I use Soyrizo which is much better for you and taste practically the same as it's beef or pork counterparts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Really tasty! I added a bit of Sour Cream and fresh garden tomatoes on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hayley99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Just made one serving of this chorizo for breakfast and I must say it was super deelish! A few things: I didn't have red onion, so I just used chopped yellow onion, and I didn't have a chile pepper, so I left that ingredient out. I really love the soy chorizo and whole wheat tortillas from Trader Joe's (the wheat tortillas have 7 grams of fiber!!!) and the recipe was super easy and took just a few minutes to make. Will def be making this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I have been making thewe burritos for years. the only difference is that I do not add chilu peppers..The chorizo is spicy enough without them. I also add diced potato.. Cook a diced potato in butter until soft, then add the chorizo...My teenage son and his friends just love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
a SOY alternative is available to beef and pork chorizo. i use soy-rizo and make as directed. i use left over rice or potatoes and add to the sausage (soy in my case) and cook as directed. muy sabrosa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
love it as it is, love to add qsao fresco, and home made salsa, and some different cheese's, good melting ones, sauteed onion, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
These are just like my mom used to make when we were little.Now, I use Soyrizo or other non-meat chorizo products. You do have to add about 3 teaspoons of your favorite cooking oil so it doesn't stick to the pan. My favorite oils to use are grapeseed oil or walnut oil. I am not a Vegan, just a person who prefers a less greasy chorizo with a healthy oil. Believe me, someone who has been eating and making beef chorizo for the past 55 years, you cannot taste the difference between a meat chorizo and a nonmeat chorizo because it is all about the many spices and vinegar used to make chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I completely agree with the comment about soy chorizo....i just used it recently for the first time and could not tell the difference....we wont go back to the real stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Way too much chorizo for me... maybe use 1/2 (6oz) of what is in this recipe if you want to know that there are eggs in the burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States