Chorizo Breakfast Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Definite keeper! We used 2 chorizo sausages, 6 eggs, and 6 tortillas for just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSA650

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My mom use to make this all the time, and when i moved overseas couldn't find Chorizo until YESTERDAY! YUM! I don't put Green peppers! I use potatoes and Tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Vasquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Used a fresh Anaheim and sautéed with the onion and added 3 cloves minced garlic. Removed from pan and cooked chorizo. Spooned out as much grease as possible then add 1/3 cup of water and cooked till water was almost evaporated. Spooned into bowl layered with paper towels to remove more grease. Wiped pan and scrambled eggs and pepper/onion/garlic mix. Filled tortillas and topped with cheese and chorizo and then drizzled with Green Salsa from Dallas Tortilla Factory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Great burritos! I cooked (scrambled) the eggs separately from the sausage... Also after reading other's reviews, I used paper towels below and on top of the cooked chorizo to remove as much of the fat as I could. This worked very well I thought. Oh, we all added salsa at the table. These turned out so delicious... family wants me to make them again next weekend. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
My family is Mexican so we grow up eating chorizo and eggs regularly and I have to say I have never had chorizo with onions and eggs. I thought it was delicious! I use soy chorizo now that I am grown since it is less fatty. My husband loved this (although we did not serve it as burritos, we made tacos instead using corn tortillas). I used about 1/4 less of the chorizo than called for since we made used some earlier in the week. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I've been making these for a long time without a recipe...and they are definitely a fan favorite. I have found there are a few tips to avoiding a greasy mess. 1. Drain the chorizo a bit. and 2. push the chorizo off to one side of the pan and scramble the eggs by themselves and then mix them with the chorizo. This helps keep chorizo from muddying up the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
So so so good! Just the way I like them. The proportions were exactly right! I made them for my husband to take to his co workers ( and of course some for me too) everyone enjoyed them!!! Be sure to not get cheap chorizo. I got mine from a great butcher. Get quality and you will taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is a wonderful dish made just as receipe states. When I don't have fresh green chilis I used canned diced ones, still a very good flavor. Well Done Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rensselaer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is one of my favorites, but you have to do it a certain way - don't mix the eggs and chorizo. Cook separately. Add cubed hasbrowns. Use beef chorizo, not pork chorizo (but pork is OK). You can omit the chile. I LOVE this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I made these for my husband's birthday (as his request). They were wonderful. We spiced them up and he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States