Chorizo Breakfast Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Excellent breakfast burrito! I always cook the chorizo sausage and drain it to avoid a bunch of grease and cook the eggs and onions separately. I also have a non-stick pan so no need for cooking spray. These were so good, especially with some salsa on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I use vegetarian chorizo, soy chorizo. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wonderful I had tomatoes and chillis that was the only thing I changed due to all I had and WOW. I also made tortillas II recipe and again everything was Wow thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hall Lynam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
yes yummy. i had some roasted fresh chiles so used those, and i had some potato i had to use so added that in, love potatoes in my breakfast burritos. i would also probably add more egg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I love me some breakfast burritos! This is a great start, but I do have modifications. I substitute light kielbasa in place of chorizo for less grease. Cut the kielbasa into fourths and then dice it up and saute with the onion, 1 green or red pepper and minced garlic. While mixture is sauteing, whisk 8 eggs together in a bowl and add 2 tablespoons half and half (or any kind of milk you have on hand). Then, this is where I go crazy. I add a lot of spices to the egg mixture: paprika, cumin, cayenne pepper, chili powder, garlic powder, salt/pepper and cinnamon. Yes, cinnamon. It really makes the dish! Be generous with the spices (1-2 teaspoons each) but don't use more than 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. Once that's all stirred together, scramble in a pan and then combine with kielbasa mixture. Chop up fresh cilantro, add to mixture. Heat tortillas in microwave for 30 seconds to soften them, add mixture and toppings and prepare for a taste bud explosion! I like to add Franks hot sauce, Jack's Special salsa (usually found near produce aisle of grocery store), shredded mexican cheese and sour cream. My husband and I eat these burritos every Tuesday night along with refried beans and yellow rice. Muy buena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I love chorizo and eggs for breakfast! I usually cook the chorizo and then set it aside in a bowl. Cook the eggs in the same pan and add the drained chorizo back into the eggs when they are nearly done (like in an omlette). But occassionally we cook diced potatoes and onion (found in the refrigerated section Simply Potatoes) with the chorizo and add them together to the eggs. Also, fold the end of the tortilla like you would when rolling a burrito and the grease won't get all over the place. The potatoes help soak up the grease too! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDJ0213

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
So good!!! I've eaten chorizo breakfast tacos/burritos for years-- also super good with diced potatoes cooked with your chorizo.. a little homemade green salsa.... a little trickle of grease running down your arm....mmmmmmmmm.. life is good......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
These were awesome! I used "soyrizo" instead of the chorizo, and I cut out the onion because my husband doesn't like it. We added bell pepper, and paired the mix with sprouted grain tortillas - magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Definitely GOOD hangover food!I used veggie chorizo as a substitute.Don't forget the hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spalady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I really found the recipe very simple and helpful. I made a big pan of the chorizo. Threw the week made breakfast burritos. Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States