Chorizo Breakfast Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
my family has been making chorizo for centuries, before the arrival of the europeans to the "new world", it has a very unique flavor and seasoning, and is very affordable, and easy to make, one more jewell of the Mexican cousine, I love it! GOD bless Mexico!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I use Trader Joe's Soy Chorizo for my breakfast burritos and add black beans, substitute red onions for green onions, and it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Just wondering where the "drain Chorizo" step was in the recipe? LOL. I always have to get SOME of the grease out of the Chorizo....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
When making chorizo you can also add potatoes just fry them first then add chorizo and mix in the egg cook together then warm your tortillas and soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuthieinL.A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
We made these with store-bought pork chorizo. They were so yummy! I use my electric burner on the stove on a heat of 3 to brown my tortillas. I recommend this over microwaving. You get a more authentic tortilla. I learned this from my babysitters in San Diego. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni R Greim-Findley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Easiest last minute dinner idea I've made in a loooong time. My LARGE picky family all loved this, everyone of them. Here are the changes I made. I used the whole pound of ground chorizo, chop it up with the spatula as it cooks to have smallish pieces, I then used a whole small yellow onion chopped and browned in the chorizo, I added 11 eggs with about 1/3 C milk beat in. Once I poured it in I sprinkled about 1/8 t of paprika and chili powder and then sprinkle about 1/4 t of garlic powder and 1/2 t of seasoned salt. After it is all mixed and eggs have cooked through I then topped it with cheese and popped it in the cold oven turned on to 350 degrees for about 7 or 8 min while I warm up tortillas in the pan with butter. Y U M M Y
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Ive been eating this my whole life. My mom always made it for my brothers and i as kids. She sometimes would add diced potatoes..YUMMY!!! She also would sometimes serve it on white bread with mayonaise on both sides. The bread with mayo way is my favorite but tortillas (especially corn) are very good too!! Also my mom never did the onions..so i am excited to try that addition to this fond family recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
These were great. I added cubed potatoes and I only had small tortillas so I made them into breakfast tacos. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I used green bell pepper, seeded and diced, in place of green chile pepper. I removed the casing and cooked the chorizo, drained the grease then set it aside. I highly recommend draining the grease as it is very greasy and releases a lot of red oil from the chorizo. I cooked the red onions, 1 garlic, minced, bell peppers and eggs separately. I also fried up one russet potato, peeled and cubed. I then layered the burrito with the chorizo on top of the eggs. I topped it with some fresh cilantro. The serving amount was just right for us this morning. I liked these burritos and thou my family ate these they also thought the chorizo was a little on the spicy side. I think these would have been really tasty with some mild salsa as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
In the picture you can see the eggs, but if you follow the directions you won't. I would cook the onions & peppers and then set them aside in a bowl...cook the chorizo (medium/hot heat, the mild had no flavor), then drain in mesh strainer. Put the chorizo with the onions/peppers in the bowl. Cook the eggs seperately and add cheese on top to melt - then layer your burrito with the chorizo on top of the eggs. I just used 1 casing of chorizo out of a 15 oz pack. I'll save the rest for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States