ChoriQueso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I changed the recipe quite a bit, but the result was very yummy. I cooked the chorizo in a skillet with onion and some red bell pepper, then when it was cooked through, I stirred in Mexican 4-cheese blend. Skipped using the oven. Served in flour tortillas with sour cream and quacamole and a side of Mexican Rice II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I love to eat Chori Queso at mexican restaurants because theirs is always perfect. Chorizo for me is hit or miss in the store. I can never seem to find a mild-flavored chorizo in the stores. I use the mexican quesadilla cheese instead of mozzerella because it tends to melt down better. Lastly, we eat our Chori Queso with steamed flour tortillas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I skip the oil if the chorizo I have is higher in fat. With Chorizo Fino you might need a bit of oil. Yes this is greasy but it's cheese & sausage! It's supposed to be. This is just how I make it at it's simplest. When I'm feeling fancy I will add pico de gallo or avacado or something when I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bawkbagawk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I've enjoyed this at mexican restaurants before, and this is somewhat similar. I skip the corn oil as chorizo is quite greasy on its own. I also pour the chorizo on the bottom and top with the cheese. (I say "pour" rather than "sprinkle" because chorizo does not have the same cosistency as say regular pork sausage.) This dish rates very high on the grease scale, but if you don't mind it that much, these are great on corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
It's hard to go wrong with cheese and chorizo. I did use a blend of cheeses, including Colby, Monterrey Jack and Pepper Jack. Had trouble folding the tortillas, so I spread the mixture on one tortilla, put another on top and made quesadillas. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Garnished with sour cream and green onion. Very good snack for Super Bowl Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was okay - nothing extra tasty. It was the first time I ever cooked with chorizo. I found both beef and pork chorizo in my local store, and opted for the pork (I guess that's the more "traditional" kind). It was a 12 oz. package, so I eyeballed roughly 2/3rds of the package when making this recipe. This was kind of messy to make. One complaint, though. I thought this recipe called for too many tortillas, since they were not very "loaded". I used 1-1/2 8 oz. packages, or 18 tortillas, and I think 12 tortillas (8 oz.) would have been plenty, or maybe even fewer would suffice. I agree with previous commenters that maybe the corn oil isn't needed, and that the ratio of chorizo to cheese is too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I had the oposite problem of everybody else it seems. My chorizo has almost no grease. Even with adding oil to the recipe, I found the consistency to be way too thick. I ended up having to cut half of the cheese and keep adding chorizo to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
There must be a different type of chorizo used here because mine gets all runny once it is heated up a 50/50 ratio to cheese is way to much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Apparently our family just does not like chorizo. It definietely needed more cheese to sausage, but there was nothing we could do after mixing in the cheese other than go to the store to get more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcsmommajen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
My husband had been looking for a recipe for awhile. Definately not for calorie counters but super tasty. Used monteray jack cheese . No oil needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States