Chopped Baked Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Great recipe. Didn't really make any changes. The recipe called for an onion. I like onions so I used a larger onion. I didn't use a full two tbs of butter topping the ramikins prior to baking as I like to watch the fat and calories. I'm sure a full two tbs of butter would taste great though. This is particularly a great recipe using canned clams and you need a quickie dish. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSROSYROSU

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I hate to leave a bad review but my husband and I did not care for this. Too much onion, too many herbs and not enough clams. I don't know how this could possibly yield 4 servings even as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was a good way to use up the can of chopped clams I had. My husband, who swore the only clams he likes are when they're in clam chowder, smelled it cooking and stole a bite or two when it was done. He said it was good. Instead of using oil, I chopped up a piece of thick pepper bacon and then fried 1/4 of an onion (chopped) with it. I just couldn't see adding a whole onion to that little can of clams. Also, since I'm on a low-carb diet, I used parmesan cheese instead of bread crumbs. I didn't have any fresh garlic so I used powdered (which just isn't the same!) I also used rosemary instead of thyme 'cause that's all I had. It only filled two ramekins, but that may be because I didn't use the amount of onion called for, I drained some of the clam juice, and I only used 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese for the bread crumbs. It was pretty good, but I don't see myself making it again unless I happen to have chopped clams on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Added 3 slices cooked, chopped turkey bacon & 1 Tablespoon of hot sauce (Tabasco). After baking, topped with Parmesan cheese - AWESOME!! Served as appetizer for pool party/cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe! I baked it in one dish though and served it with sea salt melba toast rounds. I always make too many appetizers, so I had some leftovers that I used to stuff button mushrooms and baked at 350 for about 15 minutes....YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very good. I don't like thyme, so I omitted that. Next time I would used 1/2 an onion, a whole onion was just a little too much. And I would probably pick up some clam shells and stuff them. This was a fast and easy recipe, canned clams are on sale often, good value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Primadonamama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Serving size was insanely tiny. The taste was good, but the proportion of bread crumbs to clams was way off. If I were to do this again, I'd halve the bread crumbs and triple the clams. I might also make patties and bake them rather than using the ramekins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very easy and even more tasty. Based on other reviews, I cut the onions down to 1/2 cup. Made these for my husband as an appetizer while he was grilling and he loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This recipe was okay. It did not taste bad at all. I did feel it was too dry/crumbly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States