Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
I just made this for a 2nd time -both times have just followed the recipe to the T. I must say, I am happy with it as is... the only thing I might try differently next time is to add the Chinese mixed veggies that everyone has suggested. Other than that, it's a great. The sauce is perfect consistency & not too salty... My 12 yr old son loved this over white rice, so I think this will be added to my meal rotation now. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Carson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I make this all the time now. I also add a few different things depending on my pantry on the given day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I have made it with pork and chicken and both are very good. I use can of mixed chinese vegetables and slice a carrot with onions. Its very good and easy to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
To make this even easier and cheaper than it already is, buy a 28 oz can of LaChoy Chop Suey vegetables. Then continue with the recipe that builds the meal. As others suggested I added more soy sauce and used chicken stock in place of water. On hand I had stir fry mushrooms, water chestnuts and bean sprouts, so they went in also. We are always looking for something different for Christmas Eve and this has worked very well the last few years. Since we have already had a fresh picnic ham, Boston Butt and cured ham since Thanksgiving we need a change of pace before turkey tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
We tried something different with this recipe. Using all the ingredient except for shortening substituted with veg.oil, added 3 stalks of bok Choy, fresh bean sprout; one large bag, a can of bamboo shoot and water chestnuts and lastly a whole 16 oz of mushrooms...for the liquid we did swap out the water for chicken broth which put a different twist to the flavor of the broth added more soy to accommodate. The different textures of vegetables were awesome. Certainly was a win with hubby! Thanks for laying the foundation. Excellent flavor!!!! Will do again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is what my Mom made, except she used beef. I love it with mushrooms and water chestnuts. This is a versatile recipe. Add, remove whatever you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Mckenzie Seiber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: West End, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
i boil the diced pork loin for few minutes or until pork is tender. set the broth aside and use it instead of adding just plain water. it also saves me money for buying chicken/beef broth. been done in my country for generations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I like the ease of this recipe. I didn't use the pork but used 1-1/2 cups left over cooked chicken and chicken broth instead of water. I just browned the onions in a little canola oil then proceeded as written and added the 1-1/2 cups chicken with the sprouts. Yum !! over white jasmine rice and chow mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Mom's chop suey...how did you swipe her recipe? We loved it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Love this recipe! It is super easy to substitute the pork for cubes of chicken- you cook it the same as the pork. You can add other vegetables (broccoli and shredded carrots are popular at my house). This is a delicious recipe!!! My whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States