Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I was looking for my moms chop suey recipe, and couldn't find it. I looked on here, and this is the same one! It's delicious! I did use a can of chicken soup stock along with the water though, and added more ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSMORIN81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I didn't really like this....kind of a bland recipe. I don't think it's the recipe's fault -- just my tastebuds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Very good and simple. Tastes fresher than a can but oddly similar. Will become one of our rotating meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Very much like the chop suey you order in Chinese restaurants! I made a vegetable version that was delicious; omitted the pork, added mushrooms, bok choy and broccoli. I didn't have shortening, so I sauted the onions in about 2 Tbsp. of vegetable oil. My husband and I both really enjoyed it. Next time I might even add scallops for a variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANOLACOWGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I thought this was great. Definitely four stars. I used chicken broth instead of plain water and I also used frozen stir fry veggies in it as well as finely chopped garlic and added some crushed red pepper to my own plate. Very good. Very easy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I've made this for the second time today. I made 4 time the amount because the last time it was all gone in an hour. I chop everything in my food processer and used olive oil instead of shortening. My husband and his brother say it's better than Moms. YEAH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Very very good! I used butter instead of shortening, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I would do different next time is to double (maybe triple) the recipe because it went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Fixed per recipe. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I'd have to say this is the best chop suey! I like it better than I get in the restaurant even! I made it 1 time and have made it over and over again. I'm revisiting the site today to print out another copy because mine has been used so much it gets a little crinkled more every time. My family loves it too. The only thing I do different is make a double batch because we all love it, and 1 just doesn't seem to be quite enough for a family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
My boyfriend hates Chinese food, but I love it. When I came across this recipe I thought it would be something he would eat and would also satisfy my craving for Chinese. He not only liked it, but requested that I make it again a few weeks later! The only modification I made is that I threw in some water chestnuts. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiminnows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States