Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Excellent and a hit with the kids. I followed the suggestions to use chicken broth instead of water and to double the recipe. It was a good recipe to cook with my 10yr old son and have him do most of the prep & cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I used cut up beef chuck steaks (cheap on sale) instead of pork, and i used a few tablespoons of wok oil instead of artery buster shortening. flavor was outstanding. very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deadhead75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This was terrific! I made the recipe as written. I was a little nervous about using the shortening, but it really needs to be a part of the recipe. I used diced chicken instead of pork. Tastes like the chop suey my mom made when I was a kid. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is the BEST!!! I use my food processor to chop everything. I make a triple batch and it is gone in 2 days. I've even have used chicken instead of pork and that's great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
My husband and I both likes this recipe and it was very easy to make. I substituted a few ingredients as I didn't have celery on hand but did have sugar snap pead. I also threw in a can of baby corn and bamboo shoots. Next time I will add a little more soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Pretty good, I used oil instead of shortening though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
My boyfriend hates Chinese food, but I love it. When I came across this recipe I thought it would be something he would eat and would also satisfy my craving for Chinese. He not only liked it, but requested that I make it again a few weeks later! The only modification I made is that I threw in some water chestnuts. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiminnows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I'd have to say this is the best chop suey! I like it better than I get in the restaurant even! I made it 1 time and have made it over and over again. I'm revisiting the site today to print out another copy because mine has been used so much it gets a little crinkled more every time. My family loves it too. The only thing I do different is make a double batch because we all love it, and 1 just doesn't seem to be quite enough for a family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Fixed per recipe. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Very very good! I used butter instead of shortening, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I would do different next time is to double (maybe triple) the recipe because it went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States