Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is a good basic recipe for a good way to deal with leftover meat and vegetables. You can replace the pork with any meat (but not fish) and you can use a lot of different vegetable combinations. Also, I leave out the sugar. Depending on the vegetable combination, you probably don't need it. I serve with both white rice and chow mein noodles. But if you're looking for something that will knock your socks off, this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robin
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
4 stars because it was a great starting point. I used 1 Tbsp canola oil instead of all the shortening. I added 4 sliced baby portabellas, 1/2 can of sliced water chestnuts (rinsed to get rid of the can taste), 2 cups of chicken broth instead of water and simmered it a little longer. I used 2 Tbsp soy sauce with the corn starch. I put it on top of rice, topped with 1/2 cup of crunchy chow mein noodles and a drizzle of soy sauce again. Tons of sodium but oh so good. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Love this!!!! So quick,easy and delicious! Used Olive oil instead of shortening as another reviewer had mentioned they used it...I also added Bok Choy when adding the celery just for some color and it was terrific! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxbow, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Pretty good. I think I would substitute broth for the cup of water if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Wonderful! I tried this with beef stew meat and also added a can of chinese vegetables. Was great, will definitely keep cooking this. My husband wants me to add more waterchestnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very good and so simple and quick to make, every working mom should try this one. It will not yield enough for 4. It is just hubby and I and there was not a full serving left so definitely double this recipe . I did add 1 Tbls. of soy sauce and was glad I did because we were still adding at the table. I will try this with chicken and ground beef for a little variety too. Thanks DKOSKO for another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
this is very close to the chop suey recipe that my mother made me for years... and now my children make it for my grandchildren... you might want to add water chestnuts, and you can also use boneless skinless chicken breasts. we serve it with oriental crispy noodles, over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made this for my mother, because she always talks about her dad making large vats of chop suey when she was a kid. She said it tasted just like his. Everyone in my family loves this, even my picky 6-year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Came out real good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Yumm... thanks! I used what I had on hand and it turned out great! So, we used Ground Turkey, Fresh Bean Sprouts, Bok Choy leaves & the stems in place of celery. turned out awesome! I did add a little extra soy sauce & some ginger & tai pepper to the meat while it cooked. My husband is filipino so our flavors have to be There! :) However this recipe was perfect for getting me where I wanted to go! thanks so much! I'm adding this to our dinner menu as a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States