Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Love this!!!! So quick,easy and delicious! Used Olive oil instead of shortening as another reviewer had mentioned they used it...I also added Bok Choy when adding the celery just for some color and it was terrific! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxbow, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Pretty good. I think I would substitute broth for the cup of water if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Wonderful! I tried this with beef stew meat and also added a can of chinese vegetables. Was great, will definitely keep cooking this. My husband wants me to add more waterchestnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very good and so simple and quick to make, every working mom should try this one. It will not yield enough for 4. It is just hubby and I and there was not a full serving left so definitely double this recipe . I did add 1 Tbls. of soy sauce and was glad I did because we were still adding at the table. I will try this with chicken and ground beef for a little variety too. Thanks DKOSKO for another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
this is very close to the chop suey recipe that my mother made me for years... and now my children make it for my grandchildren... you might want to add water chestnuts, and you can also use boneless skinless chicken breasts. we serve it with oriental crispy noodles, over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made this for my mother, because she always talks about her dad making large vats of chop suey when she was a kid. She said it tasted just like his. Everyone in my family loves this, even my picky 6-year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Came out real good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Yumm... thanks! I used what I had on hand and it turned out great! So, we used Ground Turkey, Fresh Bean Sprouts, Bok Choy leaves & the stems in place of celery. turned out awesome! I did add a little extra soy sauce & some ginger & tai pepper to the meat while it cooked. My husband is filipino so our flavors have to be There! :) However this recipe was perfect for getting me where I wanted to go! thanks so much! I'm adding this to our dinner menu as a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I was looking for the Chop Suey I used to have in grammar school. It had a brown colored gravy. For a regular chop suey recipe, I thought this was very good and just like the one you get from the restaurants. I also used oil instead of shortening and only about 2 tablespoons. It was very easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Well, just made this for dinner. Here are my suggestions: 1-2 T. oil rather than shortening, saute a couple of cloves of garlic with the diced pork (who said ground pork?!), a couple of ounces of soy sauce (or ponzu), and last but not least - 2 T. molasses! That was the missing ingredient! I did chop some red bell pepper and saute also with the vegetables. Instead of bean sprouts, I used a can of fancy mixed Chinese vegetables, which also contained bean sprouts. Now, that's chop suey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States