Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Hit the spot! I love me some Chicken chop suey. Next time I make this, I want to add two cans of bean sprouts. My hubby doesn't like celery, the texture mainly, so added celery salt instead to keep the flavor. I also used chicken broth instead of the 1 cup of hot water to bring out the flavor of the chicken I used in the dish. I'ma keepin this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking in Rhythm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe is just like my mom's! Everyone loves it. I used chicken broth and added diced chicken along with the pork. I also added water chestnuts. I did use chinese mixed veggies for the bean sprouts and it was really delicious....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
When I first glanced at this recipe, I thought it was too simple to be flavorful, but upon reading the reviews, I decided to give it a go. I, too, changed the water to chicken broth, added minced garlic and a smidgen of ginger; also, about a tablespoon each of white wine, oyster sauce, soy, and sesame oil. The veggies I used were all fresh: thinly sliced carrot, cabbage, celery, bean sprouts, and water chestnuts. The result? Perfectly splendid flavor! I was very pleased with this foundation to build upon. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaJireh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I changed it up a bit used skirt steak not pork, and did not have Sherry so used a splash of wine vinegar, but the concept and cooking instructions were a great help. First attempt and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
A little bland; i would use beef or chicken stock next time instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Norback

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
the family loved this and it tastes like the chop suey my mom used to make back in the 70s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Thank you for such an awesome recipe! I've used this site for 5+ years religiously and this is by far my favorite entree! Everyone loved it! It is just like what you would get at a restaurant and probably even better. The only change I made was I added water chestnuts and pea pods! Oh my! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I really love this! In place of the can of sprouts, I use a can of chow mein vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. I added water chestnuts and used beef instead of pork over brown rice. I also substituted olive oil for the shortening and used less than the recommended amount to cut down on the fat and calories. I also let cook for about 10-15 minutes to get the celery softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
We really loved this! I used leftover pork loin roast diced up and I did as others suggested and used 2 Tblsp. of canola oil to saute the onion and celery, along with some minced garlic and sliced baby bella mushrooms. I also used a can of fancy chinese vegetables instead of just bean sprouts and some extra water chestnuts. In the cornstarch mixture I used twice as much soy sauce plus 2 Tblsp. of molasses. It was divine and like so many others have said, "just like my mother used to make." What a treat! And, it is quick and easy. Thanks for the basic recipe. It is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States