Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I used a small amount of olive oil, chicken, fresh bean sprouts and added zucchini. We really enjoyed it and it will become one of my regular meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
It was okay. It tasted kind of bland so I added hoisin sauce and chili garlic paste. I also added a bag of frozen asian vegetables and left out the bean sprouts because I didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Hit the spot! I love me some Chicken chop suey. Next time I make this, I want to add two cans of bean sprouts. My hubby doesn't like celery, the texture mainly, so added celery salt instead to keep the flavor. I also used chicken broth instead of the 1 cup of hot water to bring out the flavor of the chicken I used in the dish. I'ma keepin this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe is just like my mom's! Everyone loves it. I used chicken broth and added diced chicken along with the pork. I also added water chestnuts. I did use chinese mixed veggies for the bean sprouts and it was really delicious....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
When I first glanced at this recipe, I thought it was too simple to be flavorful, but upon reading the reviews, I decided to give it a go. I, too, changed the water to chicken broth, added minced garlic and a smidgen of ginger; also, about a tablespoon each of white wine, oyster sauce, soy, and sesame oil. The veggies I used were all fresh: thinly sliced carrot, cabbage, celery, bean sprouts, and water chestnuts. The result? Perfectly splendid flavor! I was very pleased with this foundation to build upon. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaJireh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I changed it up a bit used skirt steak not pork, and did not have Sherry so used a splash of wine vinegar, but the concept and cooking instructions were a great help. First attempt and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
A little bland; i would use beef or chicken stock next time instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Norback

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
the family loved this and it tastes like the chop suey my mom used to make back in the 70s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Thank you for such an awesome recipe! I've used this site for 5+ years religiously and this is by far my favorite entree! Everyone loved it! It is just like what you would get at a restaurant and probably even better. The only change I made was I added water chestnuts and pea pods! Oh my! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I really love this! In place of the can of sprouts, I use a can of chow mein vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States