Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious. Just like i made for all the years my children were growing up. I learned from this version to shorten cooking time for the pork and the vegetables. And of course I added Grandmas molasses in lieu of sugar. I used Mother Hubbard molasses for years. I also add water chestnuts, bamboo shoots, and mushrooms, and used fresh bean sprouts. Serve over organic rice if gluten sensitive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
It's a bit bland, but pretty authentic tasting. Adding some cabbage and water chestnuts fills it out as a fuller dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
A tiny bit bland but still worth the efforts. Next time will add julienned bell peppers, sliced onion, angle-sliced celery... Dicing doesn't seem to suit the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is great if you really like Chop Suey. I used Chicken instead of Pork. It certainly must be healthy for you with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I've made this recipe a few times now, and I love it! The combination of flavors (the sugar surprised me) have a very nice complexity that I was not expecting. I've thought about adding other vegetables into this recipe, but it's just great as it is. I made this with pork the first time, since I had an extra boneless pork chop on hand. After that, I made it with chicken, and it's just as good. Thank you for this recipe! Now we're reallyl cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
It's been a long time since I had this. My mom used to make it and this is very close to her recipe. The only changes I made are: a double batch, using brown rice (1 to 2 - rice to water - 1 hour low flame) which adds a nutty flavor and makes it healthier, instead of shortening using a 2 Tbsp of olive oil, adding an ample Tbsp of molasses, increasing the soy sauce to 2 Tbsp and reducing the water by that amount. I like using fresh organic bean sprouts and celery instead of the canned stuff. I can eat this for breakfast, lunch and dinner; and then in my dreams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great recipe! Mega compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NitroBurns

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
For our chinese food night, I made this Chop Suey, Sweet and sour pork and Egg Rolls. My husband not being one to like chinese type foods, loved this!!! I added water chesnuts, carrots and cabbage. This will be remade again with more pork and no waterchestnuts for the hubby. Thank you for sharing this easy and great tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJsLady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
good basic recipe. i used tofu instead of meat, and added zero calorie shiritake noodles. i also used chicken broth instead of just water. very simple and comforting. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States