Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Fantastic~ I doubled the recipe, but next time I think 3 Tablespoons of Cornstarch in a double batch will be plenty. Excellent recipe DKOSKO, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I have a freezer full of frozen food- a diced celery/onion/carrot mixture, broccoli florets, and chicken breasts. Didn't know what to do and decided to find a recipe for chop suey. Random huh? I read a lot of complaints about it being bland but for me, it was perfect! Maybe because I'm big on seasoning, and I season food to my taste. I didn't have pork, so I cut up the (thawed) chicken breasts and cooked them in olive oil. The chicken was seasoned with seasoning salt, paprika, and pepper. I added my vegetables after the chicken was done and used low-sodium chicken broth as the substitute for the hot water. Added a dash of salt and pepper and even then, the mixture already tasted great. I used fresh bean sprouts instead of canned, but I'm sure that it wouldn't make a difference. Made the cornstarch mixture according to the directions, and was originally worried about the taste of the mixture. After adding it to the stirfry however...wonderful. Perfect amount of salt and sweet. (I later added red pepper flakes-- gotta have a little spicy!) It is a very simple, fast recipe and I recommend it for anyone who wants to make a restaurant-quality meal in a short time period. I think maybe using the chicken broth will help with those who said it was bland, but in the words of Chef Ramsay "Taste, taste, taste!" No recipe is perfect. Will DEFINITELY cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very Blah!! Made it twice with same result. Don't know what is missing. Second time I added baby corn/sliced water chestnuts/extra soy sauce. Still very bland. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
My 5-year old ate this up. I was a little apprehensive to make this since I have a picky child, but he all but licked the plate clean. Followed the recipe (even with the shortening), but subbed La Choy Chop Suey Vegetables in place of the bean sprouts. Will definitely try this with chicken or beef next time. Great base and I will experiment with additions next few times I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious. Just like i made for all the years my children were growing up. I learned from this version to shorten cooking time for the pork and the vegetables. And of course I added Grandmas molasses in lieu of sugar. I used Mother Hubbard molasses for years. I also add water chestnuts, bamboo shoots, and mushrooms, and used fresh bean sprouts. Serve over organic rice if gluten sensitive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
It's a bit bland, but pretty authentic tasting. Adding some cabbage and water chestnuts fills it out as a fuller dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
A tiny bit bland but still worth the efforts. Next time will add julienned bell peppers, sliced onion, angle-sliced celery... Dicing doesn't seem to suit the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is great if you really like Chop Suey. I used Chicken instead of Pork. It certainly must be healthy for you with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I've made this recipe a few times now, and I love it! The combination of flavors (the sugar surprised me) have a very nice complexity that I was not expecting. I've thought about adding other vegetables into this recipe, but it's just great as it is. I made this with pork the first time, since I had an extra boneless pork chop on hand. After that, I made it with chicken, and it's just as good. Thank you for this recipe! Now we're reallyl cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States