Chop Suey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
This recipe is almost the same as the Swedish Nut Cake, except the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
great,easy cake! For a sweeter cake, I made a cream cheese frosting instead of the confectioner sugar and milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACQUELYN21

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This is one of the best cake recipes I've ever tried. It's simple ingredients I always have on hand and is a wonderful "go-to" dessert. Actually my 18 year old son requested this for his birthday cake! Have made it with chopped apples in place of pineapple and it was very good. It is very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is one of the easiest cakes to make that is moist and similar to homemade carrot cake, maybe even better! It tastes just as good without cinnamon. I know because I forgot to add it. Yet, all the ladies that I served it to loved it and asked for the recipe! Here's the trick to making it, allow the baking soda to fizz before adding the remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
A very moist and sweet cake! I made it for a dinner party where I served chicken stirfry and fried rice. I will look forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
A moist and nutritious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
A moist and sweet cake! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Great success, for mother-in-law's birthday! I especially appreciated the suggestion to use whipped cream cheese frosting. When combined, it rivals the cakes one would buy at the Neiman Marcus cafe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Good & moist, the pineapple & walnut make for an interesting texture. I'll make again for a fun, different dessert to accompany an asian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copan, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hereford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
i've been looking for a "chop suey cake" recipe for a long time... i remember an old neihbor of ours bringing a homemade cake to a bridal shower it was in the early 80's i would like to use some fruit cocktail , and some shredded coconut i have on hand..to make this for a mardi gras party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States