Chomeur's Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
great version of the original, I've also made it substituting a part of the sugar sauce with maple syrup for a real sprecial treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. As a Quebecer I must say it was authentic. Simple, tasty, quick and it reminds me of home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
AWESOME recipe!! Only downfall is that it doesnt taste nearly as yummy the next day. I changed mine a little. Like any cake recipe, I creamed the butter and sugar first and then added the egg. I then added 2 tsp vanilla extract. I also added 3 tsp ground cinnamon to the flour mixture which gave it great flavor. I decreased the brown sugar to 1 3/4 and still found the sauce a bit sweet. I added extra vanilla to the brown sugar sauce too. I might try adding apples next time. Over all, great recipe but must finish entire thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I am so impressed with how great this dish came out considering the few simple ingredients. I did add an equal amount of maple extract since I read that the traditional version of the recipe actually uses maple syrup! Two thumbs up, this is definitely going in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe was my very first time making a French-Canadian dessert. Very nice, simple dessert. Took the advice of another and added some cinnamon and add'l vanilla to the cake batter and decreased the amount of brown sugar in the syrup to 1 3/4 cups and it was just right. Best served warm with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Really easy and fast recipe. I used unsalted butter instead of margarine as it is healthier. Comes out really rich, but according to my brother who is the one who was really craving pudding chomeur, it is less rich than the one made with maple syrup he had at a restaurant. The cake part was not quite as good and gewy as the one he had at the restaurant, but still very moist and syrupy on the bottom. His sweet tooth was nicely satisfied so was the sweet tooth of everyone else at the gathering! Great quick recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Good recipe. I liked the batter, but the sauce was too sugary for me. Although, if I was to make it again I think I would add some cinnamon to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Délicieux !!!! Serve with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Excellent! Just like we had in Quebec. I divided the batter & liquid in two and made half in my crockpot, cooked on high for 2 hours. Turned out wonderfully both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icesx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Wow, this tastes amazing! I used butter instead of margarine and it turned out great. There is a lot of syrup at the bottom of the pan (it sinks during baking), so I'll probably make a bit less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States