Chomeur's Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
AWESOME recipe!! Only downfall is that it doesnt taste nearly as yummy the next day. I changed mine a little. Like any cake recipe, I creamed the butter and sugar first and then added the egg. I then added 2 tsp vanilla extract. I also added 3 tsp ground cinnamon to the flour mixture which gave it great flavor. I decreased the brown sugar to 1 3/4 and still found the sauce a bit sweet. I added extra vanilla to the brown sugar sauce too. I might try adding apples next time. Over all, great recipe but must finish entire thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. As a Quebecer I must say it was authentic. Simple, tasty, quick and it reminds me of home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Délicieux !!!! Serve with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Really easy and fast recipe. I used unsalted butter instead of margarine as it is healthier. Comes out really rich, but according to my brother who is the one who was really craving pudding chomeur, it is less rich than the one made with maple syrup he had at a restaurant. The cake part was not quite as good and gewy as the one he had at the restaurant, but still very moist and syrupy on the bottom. His sweet tooth was nicely satisfied so was the sweet tooth of everyone else at the gathering! Great quick recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
great version of the original, I've also made it substituting a part of the sugar sauce with maple syrup for a real sprecial treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I am so impressed with how great this dish came out considering the few simple ingredients. I did add an equal amount of maple extract since I read that the traditional version of the recipe actually uses maple syrup! Two thumbs up, this is definitely going in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe was my very first time making a French-Canadian dessert. Very nice, simple dessert. Took the advice of another and added some cinnamon and add'l vanilla to the cake batter and decreased the amount of brown sugar in the syrup to 1 3/4 cups and it was just right. Best served warm with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Excellent! Just like we had in Quebec. I divided the batter & liquid in two and made half in my crockpot, cooked on high for 2 hours. Turned out wonderfully both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icesx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Good recipe. I liked the batter, but the sauce was too sugary for me. Although, if I was to make it again I think I would add some cinnamon to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was Great. I felt it was a light tasting dessert. More of cake than pudding but that could of happen because I felt the sauce was to much and I only pour half of it. I will try it with the entire amount. Supper easy to make! So glad I found this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States