Chole Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mms09
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Absolutely delicious! This was the first time I have ever made any saag dish, so I didn't know if the watery consistency was intended. After having read a couple of reviews that recommended coconut milk instead of yogurt, I decided to go half and half. The outcome was delicious! I also added a some more pepper flakes and used freshly chopped spinach. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was so easy to make and really yummy. I used fresh spinach, vegetarian stock, and a little ginger. Omitted the peas. I should have waited to the add the yogurt until the end so it wouldn't curdle as much. I also threw in some soy sauce and some sriracha instead of red pepper flakes. We ate it over yesterday's leftover brown rice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Great dish!! The only think I added that it did not call for was a 1/2 tsp (give or take) of garam masala. Also, I only used 5 oz of fat free greek yogurt. Fabulous dish to make for an Indian themed dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I originally gave this 4 stars because it wasn't quite the saag recipe I was looking for. But now that it's become a staple in our household, I think I ought to revise my rating! We love this. I measure the spices generously, use fresh spinach, and add a bit more spinach than is actually called for, but other than that, the recipe hasn't evolved much in the months that we've been making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was decent if you followed directions exactly, but it needs to be cooked longer than "heated through". Per another recipe on this site, the next day I heated up a little additional butter and added more garlic and 2 teaspoons of red curry powder- then added the previously cooked saag. I added a cup of chicken stock and cooked for a long time (?- 1 hour?) and at the end added about 1/4 cup of plain yogurt. THIS I could eat every day- it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
very delicious. Easy way to make an indian inspired dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was delicious. Better the next day. Didn't last a third day. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosalind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was OK. Tasted better the second day, but even then and even with me adding a little extra seasoning and some paneer, it still tasted rather bland. I think the chickpeas detract from the dish both in texture and flavor, and if I play around with this dish and make it again, I'll leave those out. EDIT: On the third day, it actually tasted better still. I think the key to this one is letting it sit for at least one day (this is like a lot of soups: they always taste better the next day) and making sure you add enough but not too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Great recipe! I used fresh spinach and halved the red pepper flakes. I also used mushroom broth instead of chicken broth. Tastes great over rice! Next time - I will puree in the blender and serve as a soup with a drizzle of cream on top, with a side of Naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Oh, my gosh, this was fantastic. We simmered a chicken breast cut into chunks in garlic, salt and pepper and olive oil in a separate pan until really tender and threw that in at the very end. What a great meal..we ate with some store bought naan. PRIMO!! We followed the suggestion and used fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States