Chole Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mms09
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Absolutely delicious! This was the first time I have ever made any saag dish, so I didn't know if the watery consistency was intended. After having read a couple of reviews that recommended coconut milk instead of yogurt, I decided to go half and half. The outcome was delicious! I also added a some more pepper flakes and used freshly chopped spinach. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was so easy to make and really yummy. I used fresh spinach, vegetarian stock, and a little ginger. Omitted the peas. I should have waited to the add the yogurt until the end so it wouldn't curdle as much. I also threw in some soy sauce and some sriracha instead of red pepper flakes. We ate it over yesterday's leftover brown rice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Great dish!! The only think I added that it did not call for was a 1/2 tsp (give or take) of garam masala. Also, I only used 5 oz of fat free greek yogurt. Fabulous dish to make for an Indian themed dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I originally gave this 4 stars because it wasn't quite the saag recipe I was looking for. But now that it's become a staple in our household, I think I ought to revise my rating! We love this. I measure the spices generously, use fresh spinach, and add a bit more spinach than is actually called for, but other than that, the recipe hasn't evolved much in the months that we've been making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was decent if you followed directions exactly, but it needs to be cooked longer than "heated through". Per another recipe on this site, the next day I heated up a little additional butter and added more garlic and 2 teaspoons of red curry powder- then added the previously cooked saag. I added a cup of chicken stock and cooked for a long time (?- 1 hour?) and at the end added about 1/4 cup of plain yogurt. THIS I could eat every day- it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
very delicious. Easy way to make an indian inspired dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was delicious. Better the next day. Didn't last a third day. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosalind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was OK. Tasted better the second day, but even then and even with me adding a little extra seasoning and some paneer, it still tasted rather bland. I think the chickpeas detract from the dish both in texture and flavor, and if I play around with this dish and make it again, I'll leave those out. EDIT: On the third day, it actually tasted better still. I think the key to this one is letting it sit for at least one day (this is like a lot of soups: they always taste better the next day) and making sure you add enough but not too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Great recipe! I used fresh spinach and halved the red pepper flakes. I also used mushroom broth instead of chicken broth. Tastes great over rice! Next time - I will puree in the blender and serve as a soup with a drizzle of cream on top, with a side of Naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Oh, my gosh, this was fantastic. We simmered a chicken breast cut into chunks in garlic, salt and pepper and olive oil in a separate pan until really tender and threw that in at the very end. What a great meal..we ate with some store bought naan. PRIMO!! We followed the suggestion and used fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States