Chole Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Fantastic, crowd-pleaser, great flavors. Made vegetarian. I cooked onion, frozen peas, and garlic with spices (added some garam masala) in a bit of vegetable stock (oil not necessary.) I then put all of this in blender for a course purée. A cooked fresh spinach in veg stock and then added peas purée and chickpeas. I used a little veg stock as needed for moisture (1cup seemed like too much.) Add yogurt just before serving so it doesn't curdle. Make vegan by skipping the yogurt, but may want to cut back on the spices since the yogurt cools them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My family and our guests really liked this dish! It got rave reviews from everyone. Good flavor, good amount of heat, simple to prepare, and vegetarian I'll be adding this to our rotation! The only thing I didn't do was squeeze out the frozen spinach, and next time I definitely will. Had to use a slotted spoon to serve it otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Just like my favorite frozen meal, Amy's Organic's Matar Paneer. I used a kind of curry powder called Muchi Curry (there are lots of different curry powders, but that one seemed to work fine for this recipe). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
The flavors are definitely there, but mine turned out awefully runny & I feel it could use much more spinach. Fresh would be MUCH better as well. With canned spinach it wasn't very good as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brennie369

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This is a lovely dish, delicious. I did not have yoghurt so used creme fraiche and frozen peas instead of tinned which worked very well. I also used vegetable stock as I think meat stocks are unsuitable for vegetable dishes. The result. excellent. Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this with doubled spices and fresh spinach. Still missing something.... so I added 1.5 tablespoons of corriander chutney that I bought from a local Indian store. Kicked up the heat and taste. Too each his own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I LOVED this!!! Will absolutely make it again!! May cut down on the amount of curry, b/c my daughter isn't much of a spice lover, but beyond that, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is a really nice everyday dish. It can be thrown together surprisingly quickly...and is wonderful vegetarian comfort food if you sub. out the chicken broth for veggie broth! Planned to give this one 4 stars, but after letting it rest for a while in the pot, it got even better, so it got a promotion! I made it exactly as the recipe states at first, but the flavor wasn't quite strong enough for my tastes, so added another generous amount of curry powder and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This really satisfied the taste that I want from Indian food. Now, FYI, I am from Kansas, so it may not be totally authentic , but I thought it was wonderful. The spice got my attention, sweetness from the peas, healthy, and low fat. Now, I did use what I have on hand, so frozen peas and beans, and used 6 cloves of garlic. I did increase the temp to medium high for the onion, garlic, and spices until soft. Also, added plain greek yogurt on top after served in a bowl. Very good and highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Amazing Recipe! One alteration I made was to replace the vegetable oil with olive oil, and combining that oil with the garlic, red pepper flakes, cumin, and curry in a Tupperware container, then shaking the chickpeas in the mixture and allowed it to set in the fridge for 3 days prior to making. This allowed the chickpeas to absorb all the spices and taste incredible! For the final product I replaced peas with chopped green bell pepper and sauteed it with the onion, then added the chick pea mixture and served it over some thin spaghetti. It is always amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swim-bike-run-cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States