Chole Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
We enjoyed it and found it actually got better as left overs. We wanted it to be a main dish so added tofu and some vegetables to give it some substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is fantastic! I made it for the family with Schwarma and they all LOVED it! We served this with Jasmine rice alongside the Schwarma! Awesome meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeshalu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Love this dish! Beautiful flavor and couldn't be more simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Fantastic, crowd-pleaser, great flavors. Made vegetarian. I cooked onion, frozen peas, and garlic with spices (added some garam masala) in a bit of vegetable stock (oil not necessary.) I then put all of this in blender for a course purée. A cooked fresh spinach in veg stock and then added peas purée and chickpeas. I used a little veg stock as needed for moisture (1cup seemed like too much.) Add yogurt just before serving so it doesn't curdle. Make vegan by skipping the yogurt, but may want to cut back on the spices since the yogurt cools them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My family and our guests really liked this dish! It got rave reviews from everyone. Good flavor, good amount of heat, simple to prepare, and vegetarian I'll be adding this to our rotation! The only thing I didn't do was squeeze out the frozen spinach, and next time I definitely will. Had to use a slotted spoon to serve it otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Just like my favorite frozen meal, Amy's Organic's Matar Paneer. I used a kind of curry powder called Muchi Curry (there are lots of different curry powders, but that one seemed to work fine for this recipe). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
The flavors are definitely there, but mine turned out awefully runny & I feel it could use much more spinach. Fresh would be MUCH better as well. With canned spinach it wasn't very good as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brennie369

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Commerce City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This is a lovely dish, delicious. I did not have yoghurt so used creme fraiche and frozen peas instead of tinned which worked very well. I also used vegetable stock as I think meat stocks are unsuitable for vegetable dishes. The result. excellent. Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this with doubled spices and fresh spinach. Still missing something.... so I added 1.5 tablespoons of corriander chutney that I bought from a local Indian store. Kicked up the heat and taste. Too each his own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I LOVED this!!! Will absolutely make it again!! May cut down on the amount of curry, b/c my daughter isn't much of a spice lover, but beyond that, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States