Cholay (Curried Chickpeas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
The best Cholay/Chana Masala recipie... as long as a couple of adjustments are made. 1. One can of chickpeas per batch 2. Use a strong robust black tea (Find a local Indian store and ask the clerk what their best tea is. For me it was Red Label orange pekoe) 3. Use a good amount of tea (about 1/8 cup per batch) 4. Don't split the beans in half, just dump the whole can in your tea-water 5. Boil down the tea water to about half, and throw everything else into this pot. (it helps to start the tea-water/chickpea process in a medium-large saucepan) One interesting variation is to add about 1/2c plain yogurt towards the end, this will add a little tangy, and give you more gravy to mix with your rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Excellent recipe. It took me two tries to get it just right though. I adjusted some items the second time I made it as follows. First, I reduced the amount of Chickpeas to one can while keeping the other amounts the same. I personally like this ratio better, and it left lots of extra gravy for rice or naan. Next, I used a high quality, rich black tea to heat the chickpeas. Third, it definitely needs the salt added. Don't underestimate this. Last I added a fair amount of cayenne to make it nice and spicy (again my preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Bland. I even tried adding more spices at the end, and again when reheating, and that helped a little but not enough. Perhaps it's that most of the spices only get added to the onions; the tomatoes get them indirectly and the chickpeas only get added to the spiced mixture near the very end. It's probably that, combined with the tomatoes mellowing out the dish too much. The "Chickpea Curry" recipe on this site is better (and easier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
It's actually a fairly easy recipe that doesn't take nearly as much preparation time as suggested, especially if you use canned tomatoes. In addition, while it is mild in flavor this is a recipe that is easy to alter to your own taste. For a thicker, more curry-like and spicier sauce, just add some sour cream/nonfat plain yogurt, curry, and red pepper to taste. (Probably heavy cream could be used too.) Extra tumeric will give it that yellow color. Highly recommended, especially if you like garbonzo/chickpeas. Use it as a base or enjoy experimenting. Either way, it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I tasted it while it was still in the pan (during that last five minutes of cooking) and I was pretty disappointed in the flavor. So then I added another round of spices, including cayenne pepper, 1/4 tsp. garam masala, 1/8 tsp. curry powder, and 1/8 tsp. garlic salt. I let it cook for another ten minutes so that all the chickpeas were soft. I served it on top of brown rice and it is delicious. Instead of a tea bag I used some loose Indian-spiced rooibos. I would definitely make this again, I will just be sure to double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
The way to make this taste it came from an Indian restuarant is to add a small can of tomato paste near the end of cooking. Much Improved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Churchill808

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Good start but a tad bland for may taste. Perhaps some curry paste or doubling the spice quantities. As others have mentioned, this is a rather involved recipe that requires numerous bowls, pans and pots. If you don't have a dishwasher or teenage kids, pass on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FATDAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was a great starting point for a delicious pot of cholay. All I did was add another round of spices, along with some amchar (mango powder) and some channa masala powder. I also take out about a third of the final product, mash it up a little, and add it back in. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita KJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
DELICIOUS & nutritious dinner time favourite! Not too complicated, and excellent flavour. I served it this time with plain couscous and "Absolutely Perfect Palak Paneer" from this site. Even better the next day, served alone with whole wheat pita! BIG hit with both my husband & I, and will become a regular for us vegetarians. One comment -- it's pretty salty, so no need to add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This was really good but not my favorite Indian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States