Cholay (Curried Chickpeas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
We really liked this recipe. My son is a vegan and he raved about it. I fixed brown basmati rice to accompany it and it was very filling and flavorful. I balked at the amount of cayenne, but put it in anyway (I do like spice!) It wasn't too spicy at all-just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
The only reason I am not giving this recipe five stars is that the recipe is very complicated. However, the effort was well worth it. This is a delicious nutritious Indian dish and I will definitely make it again! I served it over rice for dinner and had leftovers in whole wheat pita for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Very good. I substituted Petite Diced canned Tomatoes (one can)for the fresh tomatoes, since it's past the good tomato season; and curry powder for the coriander and cumin only because I feel it's a little more authentic that way. Served it on rice. Tasted like we have at Indian restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This recipe is delicious. The only reason I did not give it 5* is because I wanted to know if I used fresh garbanzo beans how much to use to equal the two 15 oz. cans. I will make this again for sure -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
DELICIOUS & nutritious dinner time favourite! Not too complicated, and excellent flavour. I served it this time with plain couscous and "Absolutely Perfect Palak Paneer" from this site. Even better the next day, served alone with whole wheat pita! BIG hit with both my husband & I, and will become a regular for us vegetarians. One comment -- it's pretty salty, so no need to add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This is a very yummy recipe. It is complicated to make but it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
The spices and seasonings were great. I think the can of chickpeas I bought was not too good...they were a lot harder than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Complicated but tasty. My canned chickpeas were not as soft as needed, you can't just pour them in and call it quits. I recently had an Indian gal in my neighborhood bring this dish to a potluck and hers was better than mine...I thin it mainly had to do with the texture of the chickpeas and how much flavor they take on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Requires 3 pots/skillets to make this one dish!! Good flavor, but has quite a lot of onion. Next time I think I'll omit the sliced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was wonderful....I did not use more than one pot to make it all. I boiled my chickpeas for a few minutes rather than just heating them up, and I also didn't reserve any. Served over basmati rice. I will make this again and again. Thanks for the post Shammi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States