Cholay (Curried Chickpeas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I didn't have curry seeds so used my curry powder (Jafna brand) and the flavor was great! I didn't like having to use three pans to make this and am thinking there should be an easier way but am happy with the flavor. Served with naan bread. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I'd skip the cooking the beans in tea with the bay leaf and throw the bay leaf in with the spice mixture next time. Otherwise GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Just tried it, and saved it to my recipe box. I added more spices/and the amchor powder for that tart flavor, and also added curry to it. I made mine a little bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was great! I used the dried chickpeas cooked with the tea bag in the pressure cooker and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Easy to make! Very tasty! I used a spiced tea for this. I omitted the cilantro because I had none on hand, but can imagine the flavor would have made it better! Served over cooked millet, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
There are some tremendously good flavours in the second onion mixture, but the first, unspiced mixture and the chickpeas unfortunately dilute that flavour unacceptably when it's all mixed together. Next time I'll season the chickpeas as i boil them (I used dried), and I'll double the seasonings overall, plus add some more tomatoes. This recipe does need salt (added 1 tsp)! Cinnamon and cloves help too. Worth trying again with tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I am not sure what I did wrong. The smell is fantastic but the flavour is rather bland. I followed very closely to the recipe. I would like to try this again but this time with higher amounts of the spices. That might help to give it more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Very good! My wife & I both really enjoyed this. Because we were having rice with it, I only used half of the chickpeas to lower the carbs, but I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepairedHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was a great starting point for a delicious pot of cholay. All I did was add another round of spices, along with some amchar (mango powder) and some channa masala powder. I also take out about a third of the final product, mash it up a little, and add it back in. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita KJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States