Cholay (Curried Chickpeas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I followed the recipe but it tasted bland. It's missing something. Definitely needs more spices and herbs. But my Dad likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I used canned chickpeas to make this and the recipe is fast and easy. My whole family loves this recipe included my 2 year old daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Bland. I even tried adding more spices at the end, and again when reheating, and that helped a little but not enough. Perhaps it's that most of the spices only get added to the onions; the tomatoes get them indirectly and the chickpeas only get added to the spiced mixture near the very end. It's probably that, combined with the tomatoes mellowing out the dish too much. The "Chickpea Curry" recipe on this site is better (and easier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Maybe I did something wrong, though I can't figure out what...even with all the spices, I found it really bland. Added some Chana Masala, though, and everything was yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Good start but a tad bland for may taste. Perhaps some curry paste or doubling the spice quantities. As others have mentioned, this is a rather involved recipe that requires numerous bowls, pans and pots. If you don't have a dishwasher or teenage kids, pass on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FATDAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was wonderful....I did not use more than one pot to make it all. I boiled my chickpeas for a few minutes rather than just heating them up, and I also didn't reserve any. Served over basmati rice. I will make this again and again. Thanks for the post Shammi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Requires 3 pots/skillets to make this one dish!! Good flavor, but has quite a lot of onion. Next time I think I'll omit the sliced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Complicated but tasty. My canned chickpeas were not as soft as needed, you can't just pour them in and call it quits. I recently had an Indian gal in my neighborhood bring this dish to a potluck and hers was better than mine...I thin it mainly had to do with the texture of the chickpeas and how much flavor they take on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
The spices and seasonings were great. I think the can of chickpeas I bought was not too good...they were a lot harder than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This is a very yummy recipe. It is complicated to make but it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States