Cholay (Curried Chickpeas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Good. I added curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was pretty darned good! I used fresh roma tomatoes and halved the recipe entirely, but I wish I had used more tomatoes. Next time three tomatoes for one can of chickpeas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Awesome after I took the advice from others and almost doubled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
The best Cholay/Chana Masala recipie... as long as a couple of adjustments are made. 1. One can of chickpeas per batch 2. Use a strong robust black tea (Find a local Indian store and ask the clerk what their best tea is. For me it was Red Label orange pekoe) 3. Use a good amount of tea (about 1/8 cup per batch) 4. Don't split the beans in half, just dump the whole can in your tea-water 5. Boil down the tea water to about half, and throw everything else into this pot. (it helps to start the tea-water/chickpea process in a medium-large saucepan) One interesting variation is to add about 1/2c plain yogurt towards the end, this will add a little tangy, and give you more gravy to mix with your rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
really good light curry. Alot of steps that is why I gave it a 4! It is worth it though if you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Pretty good, but a little bland. Next time I will add tumeric, and more cayenne and garma masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was positively delicious. It tasted like I bought it from a good Indian restaurant. I served it over Basmati rice and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
The way to make this taste it came from an Indian restuarant is to add a small can of tomato paste near the end of cooking. Much Improved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Churchill808

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This has the potential to be a great dish but it definitely needs more spices (garam masala and turmeric are NOT optional) and less garbanzo beans. Will certainly make again because this tastes quite authentic to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I tasted it while it was still in the pan (during that last five minutes of cooking) and I was pretty disappointed in the flavor. So then I added another round of spices, including cayenne pepper, 1/4 tsp. garam masala, 1/8 tsp. curry powder, and 1/8 tsp. garlic salt. I let it cook for another ten minutes so that all the chickpeas were soft. I served it on top of brown rice and it is delicious. Instead of a tea bag I used some loose Indian-spiced rooibos. I would definitely make this again, I will just be sure to double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States