Choice Apple and Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Muffins did not cook,even after ten extra minutes. I believe it was most likely due to the moisture that came out of the apples when baking. The apples I used weighed 9 1/2 oz shredded and bananas 6oz. It would have helped to know the weight of the fruits in the recipe, because fruits vary in size. I think my apples were too big. I think muffins without any solid fat or oil or eggs in the recipe tend to not come out as intended. Not trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I must say that as excited as I was to make these I was equally disappointed. They smelled awesome as they were cooking but they did not rise and they were gooey in the middle. I put them back in the oven but this just made the outside leathery. I thought about trying again with baking powder and soda but after reading the reviews, I am guessing that that won't work either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NC Horvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
The lack of levening and super wet ingredients made them heavy and they didn't cook properly. There is something wrong with this recipe/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This recipe is awesome!! I run a daycare and this is one that I come back to a lot. Not only is it one of the only muffin recipes I've found that doesn't use eggs (allergy), but it's healthy, the kids love it and they really taste great! It's not a cupcake, so don't expect over the top sweet flavor, but it's very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
These muffins were rock hard, and pasty. The glaze was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I saw the bad ratings and decided to make it anyway, and was glad that I did. I made three changes: I added an egg, and a cup of sliced, frozen strawberries instead of the apple, and I added a teaspoon of all spice. For those complaining about the wet centre, there should be some wetness expected when you are using mashed bananas! They aren't going to solidify completely when baked, they remain moist and mushy. If you want to prevent some of the wetness, either cut down on the bananas or mix them extremely thoroughly so that you have no chunks (even small ones.) Personally, I loved being able to take a bite and finding a moist banana/strawberry mixture in the middle. Considering how low-fat AND low calorie this is, I give it four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
How can people rate a recipe badly when they don't follow the original ingredient directions. "I used... and replaced ...with..." You have totally changed the recipe. If you've changed the recipe that drastically, submit your own. It really deceives people when we read bad reviews only to come to the conclusion that the reviewer didn't follow the recipe exactly. Is the ORIGINAL recipe any good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This recipe has taught me to read the reviews! Awful result-did not cook in the middle and btw no mention in the directions of when to add the milk(although not a difficult thing to figure out...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I omitted the milk and replaced with 2 eggs. [I didn't have any orange so omitted this too!} I only added 1 grated apple. I also added some well chopped walnuts. I put egg, banana and vanilla into food processor, and then poured onto dry ingredients. I added about 1 desertspoon of rice milk because I felt the mixture was a bit solid. Muffins are yummy and I will make again. Next time I might cook at 170° for 5-10 minutes longer, and maybe add a fraction more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States