Choereg (Armenian Easter Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Thank you for this amazing recipe! The choereg turned out delicate, flaky, and with just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I am an experienced baker. Love to try other people's recipes. Trying out this recipes right now. Did not read reviews-Definitely needs more flour- Had to add 3 more cups of flour. Will rate after baking, I feel it will be a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina1112
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is absolutely wonderful. I have made it every week for a few months now. I use white wheat sometimes. I have added into the braids Nablus cheese, I have made them little zaatar pies. It goes quick. If someone knows I am making it, they ask for some too! Nothing smells better than bread baking in the house! Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Thank you Ani, shad hachogh er.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this bread and will continue to make it every Easter. I added an extra 3/4 of a cup of flour to get the correct consistency. I couldn't find Mahleb anywhere so I replaced it with cinnamon and nutmeg. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kldsunshine17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barbara1234
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Seriously delicious. My family loves this bread. Yes, does need about 1.5 cups more flour. Otherwise perfectly worth the search for Mahleb.you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Wow this bread tastes so rich and buttery, i have made hefezopf for years and years which is a German variation and is a braided yeast bread, This recipe was no more difficult to make and the result is truly delicious. I will probably switch to this Armenian variation going forward for its rich texture and buttery flavor. I made this hoping to surprise my husband when he comes home from work as he is Armenian and his grandmother and mom make this too. Thank Ani for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I am Armenian and I approve of this recipe! My only changes: used all butter, no margarine. And I prefer a slightly sweeter bread so added another 1/3 cup of sugar. As far as shaping them, I make my aunties shapes..pinwheels, and twists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Incredible Bread that may be enjoyed as is, or as a delicious sandwich, filled with your favorite savory meats. Slightly crunchy crust, structured, yet fluffy textured crumb with subtle sweetness that's addicting. I added diced candied citrus peels to the dough and sliced almonds on top prior to baking on the stone. Fantastic presntation for a festive celebration... Thanks Ani!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
All you need is one more person telling you that more flour was needed! But, I halved the recipe and still added 2-1/2 cups of extra flour. However, I didn't have the "required" spices, but read somewhere on a spice website that I might want to try anise, nutmeg and cinnamon; so I did - and it was superb! Only 1/2 tsp. of each for half the recipe, and barely detectable when eating the bread... but I think it enhanced the sweetness of the bread. I also used all butter in the recipe. I shaped the dough, brushed with egg and sprinkled with sesame seeds prior to letting it rise - proofing it on the oven proofing setting for 45-60 minutes, then just turned the oven on to 350 and baked it for about 20 minutes. Everyone was quite impressed, and out of 18 people - some who took a few slices home with them for leftovers - there were only 6 slices left for our family. We devoured it at the next meal. This is a wonderful - quick and easy, actually - recipe that I'm sure I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States