Choereg (Armenian Easter Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I would certainly give this recipe 5 stars for flavour and crumb as it is really delicious. The recipe calls for 6 cups of flour "or as needed". I will keep this in my collection for special occasions but with the changes noted. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This sounds VERY similar to my mother-in-law's recipe. She was Turkish and used to call it "pita or peta" bread (not like the pocket bread). I made her recipe a long time ago using cardamom as I didn't have mahleb. It was pretty close in flavor. I have not yet made this recipe but can't wait to try it! My mother-in-law has passed away and my husband really misses her traditional Easter and New Year's bread. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middle Village, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I was amazed at the amount of butter (we used all butter instead of margarine) in this recipe--but it makes a very tasty bread! Thanks for this recipe--I think it's going to become my standard Easter bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I have always wanted to make this bread but had no idea what mahleb was until I found a SPICE store near by! I was pleasantly surprised by the texture of the bread and the hint of flavor from the mahleb. The bread was so light and moist not like bread at all. Like others, I had to add extra flour, but only enough to make the dough so it didn't stick to my fingers -- still very soft. I am hooked on this now and would have made my Armenian Aunt Noone proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
The amount of flour needed for this recipe was way off, so if you are an inexperienced baker, this would not be the recipe to start with. Other than that, the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Thank you for this amazing recipe! The choereg turned out delicate, flaky, and with just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I am an experienced baker. Love to try other people's recipes. Trying out this recipes right now. Did not read reviews-Definitely needs more flour- Had to add 3 more cups of flour. Will rate after baking, I feel it will be a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina1112
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is absolutely wonderful. I have made it every week for a few months now. I use white wheat sometimes. I have added into the braids Nablus cheese, I have made them little zaatar pies. It goes quick. If someone knows I am making it, they ask for some too! Nothing smells better than bread baking in the house! Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Thank you Ani, shad hachogh er.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this bread and will continue to make it every Easter. I added an extra 3/4 of a cup of flour to get the correct consistency. I couldn't find Mahleb anywhere so I replaced it with cinnamon and nutmeg. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kldsunshine17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States