Choctaw Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is delicious! I substituted olive oil for vegetable oil, Swai for catfish, and onion powder instead of onion salt. The fish was the best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This was a very good recipe, but I have to agree with a previous reviewer on the time. About 2-3 minutes per side, tops! This is similiar to another catfish recipe that my family and I frequently cook made with mustard and corn meal. That reciep to follow. This is definitely a "keeper!" Nicely done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHEISS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Ahh the crust was so good. I used this crappy basa fish (basa is flavorless! but cheap, and all I had on hand), and didn't have cornmeal so instead used tempura flakes, which stuck better after an eggwash. Mmmmm. Way good. Also I didn't have buttermilk, so I found an alternative recipe using 1 tablespoon of lemon juice to 1 cup of milk. So I don't know how the recipe is really SUPPOSED tot taste like, but my poorcollegestudent version had the most delicious crust ever! I would have never thought to use grill seasoning. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I used tilapia, and substituted seafood seasoning for the steak seasoning. I would have incinerated the fish if I'd cooked as long as recommended--I think I cut cook time almost in half (just check the underside for color). This was so incredibly, amazingly good--the fish was mild and flaky, the crust crunchy and satisfying. Just season to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Simply delicious. This is one of the best tasting catfish I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Wonderful - Modified the steak seasoning amount because of a previous review. Cooked the fish on a grill on a griddle and it was wonderful - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Tasty! Fried mine in corn oil, and you definitely need to let it drain for a goodish while, or it is still pretty greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This was ok. A little on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
I enjoyed this recipe. Its quick & easy and there are other seasonings that you can add to it to spruce it up even more! You have to be careful though. If you have some large fillets, you'll have to allow them to cook a little longer, but the recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARK BAUER

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
OK, but I thought it needed additional seasoning. Good coating texture and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States