Chocolate/Peanut Butter Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These worked well- even for an amateur baker! Went over very well for both my wife and son. I made a number of alterations after reading the reviews. 1 - Used butter instead of shortening (thought we were out). 2 - Used 2 eggs. 3 - Used 1/4 teaspoon salt. (I would have used 1/2 but wanted to be careful as I was using salted butter. They didn't seem too salty.) 4 - Used 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder- they were still a little flat, but not horrid. I will try full TBS next time. 5 - Used 1/2 cup peanut butter. * I would have used chocolate chips if I'd had them... rather, if I'd known we had them. They were still tasty with out, I just happen to be very partial to chocolate. Also, I made them small- as directed and it made the full 4 dozen. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I really enjoyed the recipe, but I wish I would have looked at the reviews first! 1tsp of salt was a bit much, but other than that, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
1 teaspoon salt is way too much for a cookie recipe. Use less and this recipe might turn out decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
this recipe was okay. i was expecting something richer. i took some tips from other reviewers, added half teaspon baking powder and used 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (instead of squares) and about 1/2 cup of all natural PB, and used an additional egg. i mixed all the batter together, too. they're not bad, but i think i'll try some other choco/PB cookie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I followed the recipe for the most part except adding in baking powder per the other recommendations. These have to be the worst tasting cookies I've ever eaten, and I am a chocolate lover! Maybe adding in chocolate chips would make it better. I ended up throwing away the batter it was that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
they turned out tasting pretty good but Mine are flat and crunchy, I added 4tsp baking powder and they still turned out flat looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The taste was great but there were a few things that needed some work. When i first made the chocolate mixture it looked like it wasn't going to make 4 doz. so I used a measured table spoon. I had to double the chocolate recipe but only made one of the peanutbutter topping. Also when the cookies baked they were flat. Next time I will deffinatly add some baking powder. This is a good recipe if you are willing to put some time into testing things out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I think this recipe earns 5 stars with the following changes: To the chocolate mixture, add... 1/2 t. baking powder 1 T. water 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips I added a little extra peanut butter, allowing it to heap over the side of the measuring cup. Instead of preparing as suggested, I swirled together the peanut butter and chocolate dough to create a marbled effect. These cookies are much better the second day. Make them at least a day ahead of serving. Over time, the chocolate part seems to absorb some moisture from the peanut butter part, and the flavors meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
They were very yummy. they did seem a little salty to me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparks19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
They tasted better on the second batch when we added a Tbsp of peanut butter, mixed the two doughs, and a handful of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States