Chocolate and Peanut Butter Dipped Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Forgot to rate this at Halloween. Made these for Halloween and a bake sale. They are a hit! You must make sure that the first layer is completely set before you add the second layer. I used as written for Halloween and recently for a bake sale I used white chocolate instead of peanut butter for a black/white look. Next year I am going to do peanut butter as a base and do the dark chocolate on top. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I took this to a Bake Sale and they flew out the door! Really easy to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I actually modified this recipe a little. Instead of peanut butter chips I went with white chocolate (my husband is allergic to peanuts) I think it turned out nicely. It was a nice alternative to carmel apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Simply to die for. Especially good with Macintosh Apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDWYER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Sorry, hate to break the 5 star review, but I really think I expected more than what I got. I Liked the peanut butter part of the apples but the chocolate part was just not good enough tasting and a little on the soft side. I would have like a harder chocolate coating like that on a choc covered cherry. The presentation was very good however. Easy, Fun and Attractive just not very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I made these as a treat for my co-workers and they went crazy over them. I used twenty ounce apples. The tartness of the apple was a nice contrast to the sweetness of the chocolate. Just make sure to let the chocolate layer cool before adding the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Super easy to do!! the only thing I modified was heating the chocolate over the stove instead of the microwave. That way I was able to keep the chocolate 'liquid' while dipping all the apples. Other than that, it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
My husband and I both love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate... so I thought of making these apples... they turned out great! A very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goatette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
this recipe was fun to make! We used Carmels too for the children with peanut allergies. P.S. Stardust: Chocolate has to be stired often as it retains its shape even when melted in the Microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This was really good, however I think I will refrigerate for about 1/2 to 1 hour after putting on the chocolate layer next time. The peanut butter layer melted in with the chocolate layer, and did not look as pretty as the picture. The scaling for this recipe did not work properly, so I had to eyeball the amounts. Also, the microwave burned the chocolate before it melted it all, so I ended up doing it over a double boiler. My boyfriend loved it tho, and thought the chocolate/PB mess looked charmingly homemade...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States