Chocolate and Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Excellent! Being Italian, I know my biscotti. I lost my grandmothers recipe and was looking for something similar to hers. This was very flavorful. I did a few variations on this recipe but the original does stand alone. Since I like a longer cookie, I made 2 large, wide loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERSHK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I have been making this biscotti for 6 years. I give it away to family and friends at Christmas time. I just finished making a recipe for 40 cookies last night. I went to my local resaurant to get a quick dinner and mentioned that I had been baking all day and I did not feel like making dinner. I told them I make biscotti and cookies. The owner asked if I sell the biscotti and I told her no, I give it away to family and friends. She asked me to bring some in today and if shel liked it she want me to make her some for an up coming party. She called me back about 15 minutes and said she would pay me $50.00 if I made her two dozen. I gladly accepted her proposel and I will have them done tomorrow. Just goes to show this is an excellent recipe. By the way she is Italian from Italy. Everyone should be so lucky to make and share this recipe with everyone! Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This Biscotti was fabulous. I had never made Biscotti before and was nervous as I brought it to a dinner party. People were fighting over the leftovers to bring home. They really were wonderful. I even froze some and served at another dinner and they were still great. I made two logs instead of 4 so the pieces were bigger and there was plenty. I also used peach Shchapps as I didn't have whiskey and it was still great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I thought this recipe was great except I just needed to add about 1/4 cup water for it not to be so dry. It went over great and now I am making for Christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2000
Very delicious, makes a nice Valentine treat for your sweetheart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This was exactly what I was looking for. They came out fantastic... almost so good I had a hard time giving them to other people because I wanted them all for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This made a wonderful crunchy biscotti that I plan to use when my family comes for the holidays. I didn't have whiskey so I added another egg for the extra moisture. I also had sliced almonds rather than whole ones. I toasted the sliced almonds, omitted the step using the food processor, and just added all the sliced almonds to the dry ingredients. With all the almonds and chocolate chips, the biscotti look as good as they taste. I got about 50 slices from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
my friend Lori and I made 3 different kinds of biscotti one day. This one came out the best. We made per recipe, 'cept the 7/8 C. sugar. guestimated that one! pretty close though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
My first try at biscotti and it turned out excellent. I also added another egg and then it seemed to have enough moisture to hold together. I also chopped all the almonds, instead of leaving some of them whole. I got about 40 pieces because I like my logs a little larger. Biscotti is full of flavor and not hard as a brick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Can't get enough of these! Best recipe I have used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States