Chocolate and Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I have been making this biscotti for 6 years. I give it away to family and friends at Christmas time. I just finished making a recipe for 40 cookies last night. I went to my local resaurant to get a quick dinner and mentioned that I had been baking all day and I did not feel like making dinner. I told them I make biscotti and cookies. The owner asked if I sell the biscotti and I told her no, I give it away to family and friends. She asked me to bring some in today and if shel liked it she want me to make her some for an up coming party. She called me back about 15 minutes and said she would pay me $50.00 if I made her two dozen. I gladly accepted her proposel and I will have them done tomorrow. Just goes to show this is an excellent recipe. By the way she is Italian from Italy. Everyone should be so lucky to make and share this recipe with everyone! Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
There is something wrong with this recipe. I'm no biscotti idiot as I've made many times before, however, this recipe is much too dry to even form a loaf. I think butter was left out !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Good recipe for those of us trying to eat healthy. Note that this recipe will be dry unless you add 2 tablespoos not teaspoons of whiskey, flavoring or another liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I really like these as coffee dunkers!! Before making them, I read the reviews and changed the recipe by melting one cup of the choc.chips and stirring them in with the egg mixture,and I melted 1/4 cup of butter and stirred this into the same mixture. I also toasted the almonds. Also, I spread half of the biscotti with melted chocolate (only one end) and half of those I sprinkled with toasted finely chopped almonds. I left the rest plain and have been dunking these in my coffee. I plan to take them to relatives we are staying with over Thanksgiving,, we can have them with coffee on Friday,,,if there are any left to take! Next time I will try to make them a little longer and wider. However, they break easily, so maybe I will add more butter and more melted chocolate to make them even more rich and chocolaty, not so crisp. I love experimenting,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Shaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Loved these! This was my first time making biscotti...everyone loved this and I was quite impressed. I substituted a tsp almond extract for the whisky. The dough may seem to dry at first...just make sure your hands are wet and really just mold and form the dough into a log. It may take time..almost like you are sculpting the form. It will quickly become moist. Also, I used a very sharp knife for cutting. Sawing didn't work for me...it was breaking the cookies and making a mess. Just a quick cut straigt down w/ a sharp knife worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Made Biscotti for the first time using this recipe and they turned out perfect! I left out the chocolate chips and added apricot flavored brandy in place of the whiskey. I've seen this recipe referred to as to dry several times... it does say to wet your hands before you work with dough to shape it.. that worked for me. And i always use a bit more extract vanilla and in this case almond when i cook. My Biscotti are great (i ate WAY to many yesterday) and THANK YOU for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiveonit brownies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frazier Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This made a wonderful crunchy biscotti that I plan to use when my family comes for the holidays. I didn't have whiskey so I added another egg for the extra moisture. I also had sliced almonds rather than whole ones. I toasted the sliced almonds, omitted the step using the food processor, and just added all the sliced almonds to the dry ingredients. With all the almonds and chocolate chips, the biscotti look as good as they taste. I got about 50 slices from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
these were amazing. i used sliced almonds, egg replacer, left out the whiskey and added some water and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by satyagraha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
The end result of these was excellent. However, I added 3 or 4 tablespoons of water to the dough to get it together. I don't carry whiskey at my house either, so I left it out. The only other minor change I made was a substitution of dried cranberries for the chocolate chips. Consequently, I didn't have any problems with the chocolate smearing, and the cookies were beautiful in the end. They taste delicious, and I wish I could give it another 1/2 star because this is a pretty authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I thought this recipe was great except I just needed to add about 1/4 cup water for it not to be so dry. It went over great and now I am making for Christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States