Chocolate and Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I used Amaretto instead of whiskey and took the suggestion to add 1 teaspoon almond extract in addition to the vanilla. For a little variety, I used white chocolate chips. These biscotti came out great! The dough was easy to handle, with wet hands, and the balance of white chocolate with almonds was perfect. I bought already slivered & toasted almonds at Trader Joe's, which eliminated step 1, making this recipe easy to do. Also, rather than get the food processor dirty, I just chopped the nuts myself and whisked the dry ingredients together---very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I used this recipe for my first biscotti attempt and I was extremely pleased. The only changes I made were to omit the chocolate chips; I had whole dry roasted almonds and I chopped them til I had about 1 1/2 cups; and I don't have any whiskey so I used Bailey's Irish Creme. YUM! My boyfriend and I are very excited to try these w/ our coffee tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flom7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villisca, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made biscotti using this recipe two days in a row. At my first trial (and it's my first time ever to make any biscotti), I pretty much followed the recipe except that I left out the almonds as I didn't have any and used orange vodka instead of whisky. The dough came out really dry even as I kept wetting my hands. The biscotti came out tasting alright but didn't look that great. Also, I found that there were way too many chocoloate chips. Determined to make some better biscotti, I adjusted the recipe by: - using 3 eggs instead of 2 - cutting the amount of choc chips in half - using sliced almonds - adding some orange zest The end result is a batch of much better looking biscotti with just the right amount of sweetness. I still find that it doesn't have the "smooth" look as most of the store-available biscotti. I think it's because there's no butter/oil used at all. However, I think it's a reasonable tradeoff of keeping this as a healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was the first biscotti I ever made, so good! I thought I'd have trouble with the dry dough, there being no oil. But all you really need to do is mix it and the liquid eventually moistens up the whole batter. Had no whisky in the house, substituted brandy extract. Also added in 2T orange rind, and juice of a fresh orange. Still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
They practically melted in my mouth!! I made some changes, added 1/2 cup water (per other's suggestions), used rum instead of whiskey and added 1/4 whole flaxseed. These are great and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Est10865

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Good recipe for those of us trying to eat healthy. Note that this recipe will be dry unless you add 2 tablespoos not teaspoons of whiskey, flavoring or another liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Loved these! This was my first time making biscotti...everyone loved this and I was quite impressed. I substituted a tsp almond extract for the whisky. The dough may seem to dry at first...just make sure your hands are wet and really just mold and form the dough into a log. It may take time..almost like you are sculpting the form. It will quickly become moist. Also, I used a very sharp knife for cutting. Sawing didn't work for me...it was breaking the cookies and making a mess. Just a quick cut straigt down w/ a sharp knife worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I really like these as coffee dunkers!! Before making them, I read the reviews and changed the recipe by melting one cup of the choc.chips and stirring them in with the egg mixture,and I melted 1/4 cup of butter and stirred this into the same mixture. I also toasted the almonds. Also, I spread half of the biscotti with melted chocolate (only one end) and half of those I sprinkled with toasted finely chopped almonds. I left the rest plain and have been dunking these in my coffee. I plan to take them to relatives we are staying with over Thanksgiving,, we can have them with coffee on Friday,,,if there are any left to take! Next time I will try to make them a little longer and wider. However, they break easily, so maybe I will add more butter and more melted chocolate to make them even more rich and chocolaty, not so crisp. I love experimenting,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Made Biscotti for the first time using this recipe and they turned out perfect! I left out the chocolate chips and added apricot flavored brandy in place of the whiskey. I've seen this recipe referred to as to dry several times... it does say to wet your hands before you work with dough to shape it.. that worked for me. And i always use a bit more extract vanilla and in this case almond when i cook. My Biscotti are great (i ate WAY to many yesterday) and THANK YOU for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiveonit brownies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frazier Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
excellent Biscotti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States