Chocolate and Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These are AMAZING! A little time consuming but soo worth the effort! The chocolate and almond flavour together taste great! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe is so yummy!! I've made lots and lots of biscotti, and what I've read is the biscotti is more authentic when no oil/butter is used. I had about a cup + of ground almonds that also I added whiskey to that I had in the fridge marinating for whiskey balls, but decited not to make. So I used the ground whiskey infused almonds, about 2 Tbs of water, and everything eles the same. So so good!!!! Oh ya, I used white choc chips instead of regular. Thx so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria r s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Overall a good recipe. I omitted the whiskey (don't have it on hand) and added 1 tsp almond extract. Also added 1/4 cup melted butter. Next time I will use parchment paper instead of foil. During the first bake, the bottoms got too browned and i had to toss a fourth of each loaf. With some minor adjustments, this will be a recipe I make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I love this recipe. Had to alter it a bit because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used 1 1/2 cups of semisweet chocolate chips, 1 1/2 cups slivered almonds, 1/2 cup sunflowers seeds. Also, instead of 2 Tbsp of whiskey I used 1 tsp almond extract and 1 1/2 Tbsp water. The dough looked very dry and I wasn't sure how it would turn out. But it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
** If you have never made Biscotti, DON'T try this recipe! 2 Cups of choc chips way too much! My cookies do not look like the picture! Tasty but ugly! haha Recommend try a basic biscotti before trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lljean65

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I'm no biscotti master, but this recipe was definitely missing an ingredient! The dough was so dry you couldn't form it into anything... I added butter to compensate. Would not recommend this recipe for novice biscotti makers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
BISCOTTI FAIL. I followed the advice of the people below and they all said to add more water because dough was not wet enough. The biscotti still turns out with imperfections. Find another recipe because I doubt you want to waste the money and time I did tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I dunno about this one. I had to blanch the almonds, then toast them and then start making this. Then, it was a super dry "dough" (can I even call it that?) that was hard to get to stick together - I even added an extra 1T of canola oil and liberally wet it with my hands and it was still problematic. Then when I pulled it out after baking round #1, sure enough it pretty much crumbled everywhere and ultimatel ended up more like a pile of crumbs than biscotti. The taste is good - but really, isn't this just a dried out chocolate chip cookie? - which is why I gave 2 stars, but the texture needs help, and for the amount of time this took I could have walked 3 mi. to the grocery store and bought some decent biscotti. For me, the effort was not worth the result; homemade biscotti isn't any better than what you'd get at a local coffee shop. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Overall a good recipie, but dry and dificult to work with. Adding 6 tlbs of butter made a world of difference in managing the dough and making the cookies easier to slice (not so crumbly!) I also highly recommend using parchment paper instead of foil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
awesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States