Chocolate Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
These were a big thumbs up. Yummy! I didn't have enough cocoa so I added a few chocolate chips to the batter and sprinkled a few on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Delicious! My family didn't even know there was zucchini in it. They were very moist. I did not add the spices, because I personally don't like spices mixed with chocolate. The muffins tasted great without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I changed it a bit, since I didn't have cardamom on hand~ doubled the cinnamon instead. I also did half brown/half white sugar and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Yummy! These muffins are perfect. They are moist, soft, rich, and full of flavor. I sprinkled a couple of chocolate chips on top of each muffin. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
These were great. I doubled the cinnamon also, and they were fabulous and a big hit at my husband's work! Thanks for the great recipe. I'm making my second batch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I love these! The first time I followed the recipe exactly, the second time I added about 3/4 cup of walnuts and substituted applesauce for half the oil. Very moist either way! One of my favorite "zucchini bread" recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I loved these, didn't change a thing and they came out perfect! Only one person didn't care for them, but she does not like Cardamom nor Cinnamon so her loss! What a great way to help use all of that zucchini out in the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Wow, these are some of the best muffins I've ever made. I'm confused by the negative reviews! They were sooo delicious, my whole family devoured them. I did make many changes. I used all whole wheat pastry flour instead of white flour, I replaced half the oil with mashed bananas, I replaced one of the eggs with zucchini liquid (I had frozen grated zuvvhini, which when thawed has a liquid), I used melted palm oil instead of vegetable oil, I increased the cocoa powder by just a bit, I used sucanat instead of white sugar and cut the amount down to 1.5 C, I used a combination of grated carrot and zucchini since I didn't have enough zucchini, I doubled the cinnamon since I didn't have cardamom, and I added about 2/3C of raw sunflower seeds (I was unsure about this but it proved to be a great addition!). They were moist and flavorful. Also, many reviewers mentioned that there was a lot of oil, I have two comments about that. #1 - This is a recipe for 24 muffins, so the numbers do look a little higher; #2 - there is no liquid in this recipe. Most muffin recipes call for milk or juice, so I think you could replace some of the oil (or eggs, as I did...btw 1/4C liquid = 1 egg) with milk. Thanks for the great recipe! We'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I love this recipe and have made it many times. The first time it was a little dry and not chocolatey enough, so now I always add chocolate chips to the batter and it comes out perfect. I never use the cardamom because I don't have any on hand, but it doesn't need it. I also use whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darcy
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great!!! I followed the recipe as written. I have a larger muffin pan and ended up with 8 large yummy muffins! Definitely a great way to use some of my bumper crop of zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Unionville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States