Chocolate Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I love these! The first time I followed the recipe exactly, the second time I added about 3/4 cup of walnuts and substituted applesauce for half the oil. Very moist either way! One of my favorite "zucchini bread" recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
These were great! I used a cup of apple sauce instead of the oil and cut the sugar in half to make them a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I changed it a bit, since I didn't have cardamom on hand~ doubled the cinnamon instead. I also did half brown/half white sugar and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
My children loved these muffins. I did make one change. There was too much oil for my taste, so I used 1/2 cup oil plus 2 mashed ripe bananas. Very moist and nicely spiced muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bar Mills, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Delicious! My family didn't even know there was zucchini in it. They were very moist. I did not add the spices, because I personally don't like spices mixed with chocolate. The muffins tasted great without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
These were pretty good. I made a lot of changes to the recipe, though, so I'm not sure how the original recipe tasted. I substituted 1 cup sugar for 1 cup splenda, 1/2 cup flax meal for 1/2 cup flour, and 1/4 cup olive oil for 1/4 cup vegetable oil. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and 1/2 cup chopped chocolate. The ending result was a great tasting and moist muffin. The only thing I wish a hadn't done was use the olive oil, because it gave the muffins a funny taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
These were a big thumbs up. Yummy! I didn't have enough cocoa so I added a few chocolate chips to the batter and sprinkled a few on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
The muffins were okay, but nothing special. The chocolate taste was barely noticeable, in fact. A bit on the dry side as well, though that was partially my fault for reducing the amount of oil (1 cup just seemed like a LOT!). If I make this recipe again, I'll double the cocoa, and sub applesauce for part of the oil to keep them moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
A little dry, nothing spectacular. A good use of excess zucchini but not my first choice of zucchini bread. The kids did eat it and request more - always a good sign! I will make it again with the following modifications: reduce flour by 1/3 cup, increase spices, sub applesauce for all or part of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
Unless you frost them, they are rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States