Chocolate Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Followed recipe as written except I put chocolate chips in the 2nd batch of 12 muffins. I found all the muffins rather dry with not a lot of flavor. I didn't like adding a whole cup of oil but did it anyway. I thought about not making these again but I think I will try one more time substituting apple sauce for part of the oil and heaping the amounts of the spices to get more flavor. Maybe adding choc. chips again. If after that they aren't good, then I will definitely move on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Moist. Nice flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I added two cups of carrots, subbed the oil out for butter, added slightly less than 2 cups of sugar, and half of the flour is whole wheat. I think I will add 1/2 cup of yogurt next time because maybe the carrots took some moisture out. Oh and I added five dark chocolate chips to each one. My kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
My rating is based on the recipe itself and not with substitutions, which then would give it a 4/5, I think. These were really good after I followed many other reviewers' suggestions. I doubled the spices and cocoa, and doubled the baking powder/soda as well. Even so, the muffins are fairly dense, don't rise much, and the batter really could use a little thinning out. I was tempted to add a little milk, but didn't. Maybe next time. The flavour with the spices doubled is excellent. I might add even another cup of zucchini next time. I also used half white and half brown sugar. And for those that think a cup of oil is a lot, don't forget the recipe is for 24 muffins, and that really is a negligible amount *per muffin.* Because I was nearly out, I used half vegetable oil, and half light olive oil. I am not sure if this mix would differ from one cup of veg, but I found the muffins quite dry even with a cup of oil. As I expected, storing them in an airtight container and letting them mellow together did help moisten them up somewhat. Good base recipe, just needed some tweaking to up the rating. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
My kids could not even tell there was any zucchini in them! Very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nefertari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Husband took these to work every day. Priest also loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I made a double batch with only 3 cups sugar instead of 4,added chopped walnuts and used whole wheat flour and I also added semisweet and milk chocolate chips to the top before baking. These were awesome, not too sweet, moist and had a wonderful spicey flavor!!! Shared with neighbors and friends, next time I will freeze some :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
My toddler loves them! I used 2/3 whole wheat pastry flour and could have gotten away with all. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These came out dry and to "clove" tasting for us. My kids really liked them though, so that's a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Delicious muffins! I substituted 1/2 oil for applesauce. I put in 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour plus 2Tbsp. Omega Hearts(hulled hemp seeds). I just used cinnamon but put in 1 tsp. also I substituted almond flavoring for vanilla. Be sure and try almond flavoring sometime as it is a lovely combination with chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States