Chocolate Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Excellent treat that I feel good about feeding my kids. I wanted to point and laugh at my kids while they were wolfing these down for being foolish enough to be tricked into eating zucchini! I only had 2 zucchini (not enough for a full batch) so I made a 1/2 batch using 2 eggs. Also used half white/half brown sugar and half oil/half unsweetened applesauce for taste and calorie reduction. Used apple pie spice in place of the spice combo listed. These came out so moist and delicious and did not need anything on top (although these would make great frosted cupcakes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htillison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
These were fabulous. To make a little healthier, I substituted 1 cup of unsweetened apple sauce instead of oil and used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of Splenda brown sugar. They were awesome. Unless you made them, you would NEVER know they were made with vegetables. I also used large muffin tins and spray rather than paper liners. Made 12 large muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Pretty good, but needs a topping or frosting. I added extra cocoa and used applesauce with the oil. I also decided to throw in a packet of breakfast nutrition shake mix (1 servings worth). Don't know if that makes for extra nutrition or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Turned out bland and poor texture (too thick) Not sure what I did wrong, but they didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Chocolate Zucchini Muffin Haiku: "Oh so tasty good! I took submitter's ideas, and changed a few things." I didn't feel guilty about altering/adding, as the submitter of the recipe gave some nice suggestions in his description, so I ended up doing half brown/half white sugar, added chocolate chips on top, as well as halving the oil and including apple sauce. These were incredibly moist and wonderful right from the oven, and just as great the next day lightly-toasted w/ butter. My daughter, a rabid despiser of zucchini, devoured these enthusiastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by 2ys4you
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These muffins are really outstanding. They are very chocolatey and the zucchini is delicious. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Wow! Insanely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made these, but with brown sugar instead of white & non-bleached flour & no cardamom (I don't think I've ever had that in my cupboards...) and I put ...CRANBERRIES! in them - very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Just made this in my NINJA (Blender) and absolutely love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Nice zucchini muffins. I cut the recipe in half to yield 12 muffins, and then used 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce to reduce the fat. Next time, I would keep the cocoa powder in the original amount as these weren't as chocolatey as we were hoping for. I also omitted the cardamom, as I don't have that spice. This is a great way to use up zucchini and "hide" it from your kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States