Chocolate Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I was short on zucchini, so I used a shredded apple, and like many people I cut the oil with 1/2 applesauce and left out the spices (except cinnamon) to appeal to my kids. It worked well! They were very moist an this is the first zucchini bread anything that my kids will eat. The adults liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taryn Bohon Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Always check the reviews for great advice. I added a mashed banana and only 1/2 the oil to minimize the fat but still keep the moistness; 3/4 c brown & 3/4 c white sugar instead of 2c white sugar only. Omitted the ground clove and added 1/4 c mini chocolate chips and 1/4 c chopped pecans. The almond meal I have, needed to be used so I substituted one cup of the flour with that. Mini muffins were baked for 15 minutes - I made half regular, half mini for variety. The football print muffin liners were so cute that it just kicks it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Wonderful blend of flavors. Perfect just the way it is. This recipe is a definite repeat in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjsunshine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Great, versatile recipe. I found the original recipe a little too sweet and oily for my taste, but on second try I discovered you can half the sugar, reduce oil/add zucchini, add chocolate chips, and sub 1 c almond flour for all purpose if you like. The spices are a nice blend -- love the cardamom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KHJanove
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Delicious recipe! My cupcakes didn't rise perfectly, but the taste was great and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This turned out great! Super moist and tasty! I melted Scharffenberger semi-sweet chocolate (4 oz), and subbed 1/8 cup of stevia for sugar, 1 cup applesauce for oil, and about 2.5 cups equal parts white rice flour and spelt flour. I left out the cardamom. I baked it as a loaf for 40 mins instead of muffins. Next time, I will double the grated zucchini. My pickiest eater loved it! Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amberc
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Super yummy. I did a 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup banana. I didn't have cardamon so I doubled cinnamon and the added some ginger at the last minute. Really. Good muffins. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This worked great! I added chocolate chips at the end and it definitely takes them up a notch. I also subbed liquid coconut oil since I had it on hand and it worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Addie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I would add chocolate chips and walnuts and cut the sugar in half next time. My kids loved it however. Just a little too sweet and not chocolate enough for me. I will try again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Wow, I made these and they were just AMAZINGLY good. I made some adjustments - I used whole wheat flour instead and reduced the amount by about 1/4 cup than what the recipe called for. Instead of sugar, I used honey, about 1 3/4 cup. I also lessened the oil by half, which probably made up for the liquid honey that was used instead of sugar. Then, I doubled all the spice amounts and added one more teaspoon of cocoa. I wanted it rich and spicy. So good! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States