Chocolate Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is an amazing recipe. chocolaty and moist.I did tweak it just a bit. For the flour I used 1 cup flax seed meal, and a 1/2c each of almond flour, white flour, wheat flour, and oatmeal. I also used a 1/2 c cocoa based on other reviews and omitted the spices (personal preference). I have a batch in the oven right now that has coconut flakes in it. Can't wait for them to be done! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I made these today to help use up some of the zucchini that our neighbors keep gifting us (I love Summer!) I subbed half the oil for applesauce (I might try subbing all of it next time) and allspice for the cloves and cardamom (I didn't have any on hand). It turned out really delicious and my two little boys (4 and 2) are currently being tricked into eating zucchini for breakfast :) I think a little bit of chocolate chips in the mix might make it a little bit sweeter, and I also meant to add some walnuts, but I forgot. I think it would add a nice texture (and some good protein!) to these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittny Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Good! Moist & yummy but a bit heavy on the cloves - my three year old ate them and I'm inclined to give 'em five stars just for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
A big hit at our pre-school co-op. Here were my substitutions: * For 1 egg, I subbed 1 T chia seeds and 3 T water. (I soaked the chia seeds in the water briefly before adding.) The bread recipe I used yesterday worked w/ 1 egg and 2 "chia eggs;" this probably would too. * For the oil, I subbed 1/2 C applesauce (unsweetened) and 1/2 C oil * I reduced the sugar to about 1 1/4 C. * I did not add any of the toppings suggested. Bake time was 20 mn for the smaller ones in the metal tin, and 25 for the larger silicone ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I forgot to say that I only baked them for 15 min. and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was a great recipe. I was really impressed by how moist the muffins came out. I also got exactly 24 muffins like the recipe said it yielded. The only things that I changed were I substituted a half cup of unsweetened applesauce for half cup of the oil. I used a canola oil blend which made them a bit healthier. Since I didn't have cardamom I used allspice. I also took the advice of another reviewer and added a few chocolate chips to the top of each muffin. They turned out yummy! I can't wait to have some for breakfast this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I took the advice of a couple of reviewers, but even tried to make this recipe a little healthier. To that end, I substituted half the oil with applesauce, added two tablespoons of ground flax seed, 3/4 c chopped walnuts, and used white whole wheat flour, and brown sugar. These muffins are still quite moist and delicious, even with these adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ive
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
These are quite good and they were moist. Didn't have cardamon, instead I used "all spice". For the next time, I'm going to add a little more of "spices" maybe 1/4 tsp ginger and I'm going to make sure I have the cardamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aguadilla, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
For those missing the chocolate, add about 2 TBSP of cold brewed COFFEE... Enhances chocolate, doesn't taste like coffee, I promise. (if you're not a coffee drinker, keep a can of instant in your freezer for recipes). I used 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice in place of the four spices, but only to save steps. This is a KEEPER recipe, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
very good very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States