Chocolate Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
These are okay. Think I would add chiocolate chip. I did substitute bananas for some of the oil, and used 1 cup whole wheat flour, one cup cake flour and one cup white flour. They are nice an fluffy and moist. Just a bit bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This recipe was pretty good. But I felt there was something missing. So, after baking my first set of mini muffins I decided to double the cocoa and add half a cup of sour cream. They were much better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Super recipe! I substitute half the sugar with brown sugar, half the flour with whole wheat pastry flour, and add a tsp. each of cinnamon, allspice, cardamom and nutmeg to give it a little zing. VERY flavorful and moist results! This is a most requested recipe in my house and at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
The spices with the zucchini and chocolate just didn't work well together. Maybe too many contrasting tastes going on? I would leave out the spices if I was to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Love this recipe....I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce and added some chocolate chips... perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
We love these muffins and have shared this recipe with many people! I didn't have cardamon so I added allspice instead and increased the cinnamon to a full teaspoon. I also added one 10-12 oz. bag of vanilla chips and 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips. This recipe makes a big batch and our friends, neighbors and relatives all love it when we make and share. This recipe works equally as well with 2 cups of pumpkin or 2-3 ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is an amazing recipe. chocolaty and moist.I did tweak it just a bit. For the flour I used 1 cup flax seed meal, and a 1/2c each of almond flour, white flour, wheat flour, and oatmeal. I also used a 1/2 c cocoa based on other reviews and omitted the spices (personal preference). I have a batch in the oven right now that has coconut flakes in it. Can't wait for them to be done! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I made these today to help use up some of the zucchini that our neighbors keep gifting us (I love Summer!) I subbed half the oil for applesauce (I might try subbing all of it next time) and allspice for the cloves and cardamom (I didn't have any on hand). It turned out really delicious and my two little boys (4 and 2) are currently being tricked into eating zucchini for breakfast :) I think a little bit of chocolate chips in the mix might make it a little bit sweeter, and I also meant to add some walnuts, but I forgot. I think it would add a nice texture (and some good protein!) to these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittny Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Good! Moist & yummy but a bit heavy on the cloves - my three year old ate them and I'm inclined to give 'em five stars just for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
A big hit at our pre-school co-op. Here were my substitutions: * For 1 egg, I subbed 1 T chia seeds and 3 T water. (I soaked the chia seeds in the water briefly before adding.) The bread recipe I used yesterday worked w/ 1 egg and 2 "chia eggs;" this probably would too. * For the oil, I subbed 1/2 C applesauce (unsweetened) and 1/2 C oil * I reduced the sugar to about 1 1/4 C. * I did not add any of the toppings suggested. Bake time was 20 mn for the smaller ones in the metal tin, and 25 for the larger silicone ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States