Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
These cupcakes are easy and delicious. I did make a couple of modifications, though. The recipe just didn't seem chocolate-y enough for me, so I doubled the amount and added 2 extra Tbsp of sugar. Excessive, perhaps, but mmmmmm. I substituted a 1/2 cup of applesauce for 1/2 the oil. I also added 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and 1 tsp of cinnamon. I forgot to put in the nuts and didn't frost them. 4 for the original recipe - 5 for my revised one! - henry's girlfriend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Absolutely terrific! Per the other reviews I doubled the chocolate and reduced the oil to 3/4 cup (didn't need to add any applesauce to make up for it, but there is additional fat in the extra 2 squares of chocolate.) I grated golden zucchini with the skin on and used white whole wheat flour because I try to get as much fiber in as I can for my kids. I used white chocolate chips instead of nuts because my kids won't eat nuts. They turned out GREAT! Oh, and get this, I was gonna' make frosting, but my 11 year old son (who normally thinks frosting is the best part,) told me not to. I made a batch of mini-muffins with the batter first and sprinkled them with powdered sugar because the kids were hungry and I was running out of time. My son had one and said the powdered sugar was perfect, and frosting them wouldn't make them any better! Try them; you'll like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I made two small changes in this recipe--I cut the sugar back to a cup and I halved the vegetable oil and used one half cup homemade applesauce. Baked at 350, mine were done at 20 minutes. Mine did not turn out like cupcakes, they were more like muffins. Even so, the flavor of these was fantastic......even with the substituted applesauce. VERY moist. The whole family loved these. NOTE: I got 18 "muffins" from one recipe, not 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
These were easy to make, and they turned out really well -- very moist. I was looking for a cupcake recipe that wasn't too sugary (because I worry about all the sugar that kids are fed) for my son's third birthday. I left out the nuts because I wasn't sure if the kids would like them. I added a teaspoon of vanilla just to give the batter a richer taste -- I don't know if it really made a difference or not. I frosted them lightly with a simple buttercream frosting. Delicious! (And the chocolate color hides the presence of the zucchini from picky young ones.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
These are absolutely delicious! I think, after making these, I actually prefer these to regular chocolate cake, because they are incredibly moist and yummy! I made a few changes: First, I doubled the chocolate in these, to add a richer flavor as some other reviewers mentioned. Second, I used 3/4 C applesauce, and only 1/4 C oil. I am a health nut, and I can't in good conscience use 1 C of oil! The result was perfect, and these are de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
These were very good. I used applesauce instead of oil, and I made a silky chocolate butter frosting. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
These cupcakes were great. I received an extremely large zucchini from my brother's garden and decided I needed lots of different recipes to experiment with and this one definitely made the grade. The cupcakes were moist and the chocolate frosting is a great addition. My husband was a little surprised when he bit into one because he thought they were just plain chocolate cupcakes, but he said they were good even with the zucchini added. This will be a great way to get the kids to eat their vegetables. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I made these for a social gathering and they were snatched up immediately. I had actually used whole wheat flour instead of white which seemed to give the cupcakes more of a muffin-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Wow! What a good cake! Everyone around asked for the recipe! It's even good without egg & nuts (removed because of my daughter's allergies). Good idea to use cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mleigh
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Fantastic! My kids had no idea there was zucchinni in them at all! :) As per other reviews, I doubled the chocolate and used 3/4 cup applesauce & 1/4 cup oil. I din't have baking chocolate, so I used cocoa powder (2T unsweetened cocoa powder & 1 T vegetable oil for each chocolate square, and I used whole wheat flour. I will definitely use these again, and would even make them more frequently because it's a treat I can feed my kids that's special, yet more nutritious. I did use chocolate icing with sprinkles, but lightly--just enough to make the sprinkles stick. **update** These are also good without icing on top as just plain chocolate muffins! We now make these about once a month, freezing half for later in the month, and eat them as muffins for snack or desert. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States