Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I made two small changes in this recipe--I cut the sugar back to a cup and I halved the vegetable oil and used one half cup homemade applesauce. Baked at 350, mine were done at 20 minutes. Mine did not turn out like cupcakes, they were more like muffins. Even so, the flavor of these was fantastic......even with the substituted applesauce. VERY moist. The whole family loved these. NOTE: I got 18 "muffins" from one recipe, not 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Very tasty, but more like a muffin than a cupcake. I doubled the chocolate -- and would add some cocoa powder next time. Added 2/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup of applesauce. Skipped the nuts, although they would be good if included. I would also grate the zucchini into smaller pieces next time... especially if I try to pass these off as cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Excellent! I used applesauce instead of oil and they were still amazing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I needed a good idea for the first 2 zucchini's to come out of my garden. I followed other reviews and doubled the chocolate, lowering the oil.. and adjusted for altitude. These were perfect!!! I made my own frosting, piped it on and added sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and the cupcakes turned out great. in fact, i think they are the best ones I have ever ate. Will make again. and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Svetlana Dascaliuc

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vladivostok, Primorsky Krai , Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Not enough chocolate! Texture was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
We really loved this recipe. I made these for my 5 year old daughter's birthday party - the parents asked for the recipe, and the kids asked me to give their parents the recipe too! A huge hit. The only modification I made was to use 3/4c applesauce and 1/4c oil in place of the oil recommended, and omitted the nuts. I topped them with a quick homemade vanilla buttercream instead of store bought. Fantastic. The only thing I would "warn" about is that they are not super chocolate-y, so if you are looking for a chocolate fix you probably will not get it here. They do however have a delicious flavor, are very moist, and excellent texture. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Pretty good but they were a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by klove radio
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
First time I made cupcakes, picked this recipe and loved it. Simple to make, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Wonderful. Couldn't tell there was zucchini in them at all. used half oil half applesauce because I had some leftover homemade applesauce to use up and that worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States