Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by mleigh
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Fantastic! My kids had no idea there was zucchinni in them at all! :) As per other reviews, I doubled the chocolate and used 3/4 cup applesauce & 1/4 cup oil. I din't have baking chocolate, so I used cocoa powder (2T unsweetened cocoa powder & 1 T vegetable oil for each chocolate square, and I used whole wheat flour. I will definitely use these again, and would even make them more frequently because it's a treat I can feed my kids that's special, yet more nutritious. I did use chocolate icing with sprinkles, but lightly--just enough to make the sprinkles stick. **update** These are also good without icing on top as just plain chocolate muffins! We now make these about once a month, freezing half for later in the month, and eat them as muffins for snack or desert. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
They were fine but I found them rather average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA_LUSHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I am only giving this a 3 because of the lack of flavour. Even doubling the chocolate wasn't enough we had to add some cocoa powder as well. Not bad but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Tiptree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
it okay but lacking a whole lot of chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Delicious! Homemade frosting is a must, though. I made a chocolate cream cheese frosting and my family gobbled up these cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These turned out really great. I added bananas. Kind of messy to eat because they are so moist, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I made these just as the recipe suggested, except that I doubled the amount of chocolate and didn't bother with the frosting. To be honest, I didn't get as far as the frosting, as my Labrador Retriever helped herself from the kitchen counter while the cakes were cooling and snaffled 6 before I realised. My family and Rosie the dog thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Cupcakes with a hint of chocolate...The're excellent. I did'nt have walnuts so I added Pecans instead (delicious). I also added chocolate chips to half the batch and that definately hit the spot! No one knew that they had zuccini in them...for those picky eaters: these babies were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amaturecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
These cupcakes are excellent! The only variation I made was I substituted unsweetened apple sauce for the oil and added another square of unsweetened chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
These were just what I was looking for! I substituted cocoa powder, and doubled the chocolate as suggested. So, I used 6 T cocoa powder, and the full cup of oil to make up for not using melted chocolate. I also added a teaspoon vanilla and a half a teaspoon of cinnamon. Yum! I've eaten one plain so far, and it was perfectly moist and had great texture. I plan on topping them with lots of cream cheese frosting, which will probably cancel the healthiness of th zucchini, but will be so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States