Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I made these for my son's 2nd birthday. We really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Awesome recipe! Just enough flavor of zucchini and walnut to change up a basic chocolate cupcake. Kids and adults loved them alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
with the extra chocolate it is great and with half the oil turned into applesauce it was great. I undercooked a batch (about 16 minutes) and the middle was gooey... bit more like a brownie. I also used half whole wheat flour so they were pretty healthy too!! double bonus! xox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
4 stars as original, 5 with changes: Doubled the chocolate, but only had semi-sweet baking squares and I should have reduced the sugar. Also, substituted 1/2 applesauce for the oil. Very tasty. The batter was very liquid-y, but after 20 minutes, they were done and look great. Thanks Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I am giving only 4 because I did make two changes - I cut back on the oil by 1/4 c, and I doubled the chocolate. But let me tell you - this was delicious. I mean, so good I literally may never make chocolate cake any other way again. It was moist, had a great texture, an absolutely fabulous flavor, and held up well over the next day or two. The cake didn't last longer than that! Definitely try these - if you look chocolate cake you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna G.
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Wonderful! I was a little worried about using zucchini in chocolate muffin......but they taste great! I made some changes: doubled the chocolate and added a tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder; didn't put walnuts. Cooking time is perfetct. They are more like muffin, not cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verona, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
We thought these were pretty good...I did change a few things tho. I used powdered cocoa and followed the directions on the package to make it the equivilent to the chocolate squares, I also tossed in roughly 2 T of milled Flax Seed. My boys will not eat nuts if they can see them so I used my chopper to make the walnuts as small as I could. I also tossed in a package of dark chocolate choco chips. My kids have no clue about the zucchini being in them...and they eat them up every time. I make homemade choco icing (following recipe on the powdered cocoa box) sometimes we ice them, sometimes we don't. They are so moist and delicious! My step father is very picky about desserts....doesn't want to eat anything that is high in fats/sugar/etc. He LOVES THESE! He actually has requested these...he's never requested any desserts from me before! To make him even more happy I tossed in some cranberries at Thanksgiving. :) He loved them! I'm thinking I may add some cinnamon next time we make them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Nothing special. Bland in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Great cupcakes! I also altered the recipe is bit by increasing the chocolate to 3 ounces, using 1/2 c oil, and 1/2 c applesause, and 1/2 chocolate chips instead of nuts. They turned great and even my picky eater ate two cupcakes and never noticed the zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Great Cupcakes :) Swapped chocolate for 4 tbsp cocoa powder, used slightly less oil (maybe 2tbsp less than 1c), substituted choc chips for walnuts, and will turn the weights into cups etc. Keeps well too - just glad it makes a lot!! Easy to do all in cake mixer. Highly recommend - am tempted to try a candy cane icing on them. Fed them to colleagues and boys no prob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States