Chocolate Zucchini Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Should be in the Top 10, in my opinion ! As promised, delicious, rich and moist. Willingly accepts another 1/2 cup zucchini when the garden is bountiful ! I use a Bundt pan, and substitute an icing sugar/milk mixture to drizzle over the top when almost cool. A chocolate lover's fantasy come true. Starting to salivate just thinking about it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe. I don't measure the zucchini though.... i just choose 2 large zucchini's and grate them and voila... the moistest cake ever. If you want a really smooth taste to the cake you can subsitute a cup of the white sugar with icing sugar (can be done with most recipes) and it really gives it that "melt in your mouth" taste. I love this recipe and it goes really well with cream cheese icing OR with a dollop of whipping cream / cool-whip on top. I'm using this recipe to make cup-cakes for my child's 1st birthday next week. At least she will get a bit of veggies in the sweet too! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was a delicious and very moist cake. I received raves for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I added a pinch of cardamon and substituted the vegetable oil for coconut oil as I was out of the former. I like that this recipe takes 2 or more cups of zucchini. This is such a tender and moist cake. Love the photo submitted. The next time I'll add some semi-sweet chocolate chips for added chocolate flavor. This recipe rocks, big time!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was just what I was looking for-- a moist cake that wasn't fudgy. I increased the vegetable oil to 1/2 c. and baked this in a Bundt pan. I let it cool and gave it a dusting with powdered sugar and now it's just right for ice cream or whipped cream. Great summer cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Great recipe. I added 1/4 c of chopped walnuts and 2/3c of semi sweet chips. Instead of vegetable oil I used chia seeds. Made into cupcakes and cooked for 20minutes. I live at 6200 feet so I reduced baking powder and soda by 10%. I will definitely make this again :) For anyone counting carbs this recipe in roughly 20 carbs a cupcake. Makes 2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is the lightest, yet moist and richest tasting chocolate cake--the perfect way to hide zucchini. Everyone at work raved about this one, which I pairedd with "Mom's Buttercream" frosting (also available on Allrecipes. I only changed it by adding slightly more zucchini (2-1/2 to 3 cups), in order to use up what zucchini I had. It may have contributed to the moistness and did not detract in any way from the flavor. Also, with the buttercream frosting (incredibly light and delicious), I added cocoa powder (3 Tbsp) to give it a hint of chocolatey flavor. This is HEAVENLY, and a nice way to get in your vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I added lemon zest to try and use it up from my freezer. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was the best chocolate cake I've ever made. Very moist and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States