Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This was a great way to use up zucchini and very tasty. It's only fault is that, when it is without frosting, it tastes a lot like zucchini bread. Though what could I expect? :) It also bothered me that I could see bits of zucchini. Maybe I'll shred it finer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Excellent, moist cake. No one believes that there are 3 cups of zucchini in it. Made a few changes to make it healthier. I cut the sugar to 1 cup, added 1 cup of white flour, 1 cup of whole wheat flour, and cut the oil to 1/2 cup. Added 1 full cup of cocoa. I have made this cake 5 times and have added various glazes including chocolate, vanilla, and almond flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This cake is awesome! I have made it more than 10 times with several variations. As another person wrote, it is a versatile recipe. For the first time today I have replaced all the oil with buttermilk (1c. instead of 1 1/2c. and 1 less egg because it was moist enough). Usually I replace half of the oil with applesauce. One person commented on their cake being bitter. It could be the type of cocoa powder used. If you are an individual that isn't fond of cinnamon, leave it out. Or add a whole Tbsp. if you are a cinnamon lover like me. Expresso powder can be added to enhance the chocolate flavor if the cinnamon is left out. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jasonslady
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Left everything thing as is and it was delicious the only thing I did was add berries so I poured half of batter added raspberries and blackberries. Then the rest of batter. No one even knew it had zucchini in the cake till after when I told them lol. My fiancé even admitted it was really good even though he hates vegitables. I also used a cream cheese frosting on this and made strawberry flowers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasonslady
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Made for small group - Herb's birthday (2015) - liked it. Not too sweet. Added pecans because I had them. Added white chocolate chips - they disappeared - frosted with cream cheese frosting. Very pretty! Moist! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCK
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Amazing! Couldn't even tell there's zucchini in it, and everyone including my kids loved it. I often make stuff zucchini (cored and stuffed with rice and ground beef in tomato sauce) and needed a new recipe to try with the cored filling. This was perfect! The cake was super easy to make and came out very moist. I did not modify the recipe other than add grated Godiva chocolate instead of walnuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very dense, moist cake! Easy to convert to gluten-free by substituting gluten-free flour mix! I also like to substitute mini-chocolate chips for the nuts to make the cake allergen-free. (I used Enjoy Life non-dairy chips)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Adams Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Slacker28
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Super soft and moist. Very tasty. Followed recipe to a T except used chocolate chips instead of nuts. Took it out at 50mins on the mark, nothing stuck to an inserted toothpick. Topped it with cream cheese icing and crushed candy canes for the holiday season :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Good and moist with a nice chocolate flavor. I recommend frosting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Bregou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is the first time I've ever made a dessert with a vegetable. My neighbor brings us enormous zucchinis and I am always looking for ways to use them. I must say I was a little nervous about messing up a chocolate cake. Since this recipe has been reviewed by loads of people I decided to use some suggestions: I only used 1 cup oil, no cinnamon, a tsp of vanilla, and no nuts. It mixed up nice and was fun to make with my husband and daughter. We made it in a bundt pan and baked for 60 mins. We let it cool through the afternoon and tried it after dinner. This was THE BEST chocolate cake I've ever had. My family loved and we even sent half to our neighbors. Everyone loved it. It was the perfect sweetness so we didn't even put anything on top. Just perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kappi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States