Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Needs no frosting! This is a great cake! I followed others' advice -- I want to taste chocolate in a chocolate cake, not just sweetness and fatty frosting. I cut the sugar in half to 1 cup. To cut fat, I used unsweetened/natural applesauce to replace half the oil (i.e., 3/4 cup applesauce, 3/4 cup oil). I replaced nuts with chocolate chips, but that was just cuzza the nutty anti-nuts in the fam. I used a bundt pan and baked it for about 30 mins at 350, and then 15 more at 325. Skipped the frosting and just sifted powdered sugar over it for elegance. Looked and tasted sensational. Moist, chocolately, and simple. Bring it to any coffee or tea, or any get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I've made twice this récipe. The first time I followed the recipe and it turned out good, maybe to oily. The second time I only used 1 cup oil and that made a big difference. It turned out GREAT!!!! My kids (3 and 6) ate the whole thing in about 48 hours. Never found out there was zuchinni in it. Even with just 1 cup oil the cake is really moist, it doesn't really need any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This cake is amazing!! So tasty, so easy to make, very moist, and everyone loved it! It's a great way to use up extra zucchini from the garden. I also love the cinnamon in it. It's now my go-to chocolate cake! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanah Keller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I did not use cinnamon but added a teaspoon of vanilla and a tablespoon of "instant espresso" coffee. Excellent use of zucchini that have grown beyond the tender stage. If you peel the zukes before grating, no one will know that their rich chocolate cake contains the "green alien life form" (as one family member has labeled this versatile vegetable.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Loved it! used the glaze recipe that Islander suggested and it was superb didn't take as long to bake as recipe said, but I just watched it and turned out fine! I baked half asd muffins and half as a cake! i have tried it both ways and i find its better without cinnamon but thats personal preference! all around great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Delicious cake. I made it vegan by replacing the 4 eggs with 4 bananas. It turned out wonderfully, very rich and moist. I also left out the walnuts in case of nut allergies at the potluck I was taking it to. I think next time I will cut it into smaller pieces due to the richness (I cut it into 24 pieces this time). Delicious though and very easy to make vegan for my friends who don't eat animal products, a win-win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I mad this in a layer cake and used raspberry filling with cream cheese frosting. Totally delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Fugere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Amazing!!!! Better outcome in a tube pan than bundt, but otherwise a total party favorite!!!!! Topped with Peanut Butterfinger Cream Cheese icing... To Die For!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great way to get rid of a ton of zucchini! Super moist and just the right amount of chocolate. I used 1 cup wheat flour and 1 cup regular and then 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and 3/4 cup vegetable oil! I also threw in a handful of dark chocolate chips which helped out! It still turned out great and my husband has no clue it is semi healthy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Made it with cream cheese frosting. Whole family raves over this cake! Even the kids who wont touch zucchini with a stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States