Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very dense, moist cake! Easy to convert to gluten-free by substituting gluten-free flour mix! I also like to substitute mini-chocolate chips for the nuts to make the cake allergen-free. (I used Enjoy Life non-dairy chips)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Adams Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Slacker28
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Super soft and moist. Very tasty. Followed recipe to a T except used chocolate chips instead of nuts. Took it out at 50mins on the mark, nothing stuck to an inserted toothpick. Topped it with cream cheese icing and crushed candy canes for the holiday season :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Good and moist with a nice chocolate flavor. I recommend frosting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is the first time I've ever made a dessert with a vegetable. My neighbor brings us enormous zucchinis and I am always looking for ways to use them. I must say I was a little nervous about messing up a chocolate cake. Since this recipe has been reviewed by loads of people I decided to use some suggestions: I only used 1 cup oil, no cinnamon, a tsp of vanilla, and no nuts. It mixed up nice and was fun to make with my husband and daughter. We made it in a bundt pan and baked for 60 mins. We let it cool through the afternoon and tried it after dinner. This was THE BEST chocolate cake I've ever had. My family loved and we even sent half to our neighbors. Everyone loved it. It was the perfect sweetness so we didn't even put anything on top. Just perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Per the suggestions I too cut the oil to 1 cup and added mini chips instead of nuts, only because the grandkids don't like nuts. I used chocolate Cool Whip for frosting. Delicious! I'm making it again today. As much as I like playing with recipes. ....I'm not changing a thing on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronni Rundblad Zito

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Wow. Amazing cake! Dense, moist, and incredibly delicious. My husband said it was the "best cake ever" and this is a man who says that cake is his favourite food-- so it's tall praise! I did end up making a few adjustments… - Cut back on the sugar by 1/2 a cup - Cut back on the oil by 1/4th of a cup - Omitted the cinnamon & walnuts completely - Added about half a cup of shredded coconut. Watch your baking time. The recipe says 50 minutes, but ours was done in about 30 min. I will absolutely be making this again. And again. And again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Tasty! I used part ww flour and cut the sugar in half. Would be excellent with fresh raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Winner! Even my 4 yr old grandson requested this for his birthday! What did I change??? Not much. I added a carrot just because I was shy a bit with the zucchini. I did add my new favorite addition to cakes.... two or 3 tbls of instant vanilla pudding mix. It makes every cake just a bit moist and even more delicious. I finished the cake with a cream cheese frosting that I put 1 ounce of melted unsweetened chocolate in the mix. I'm salivating about thinking of having it tonite for the birthday party!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I made this recipe and brought it into work along with a pan of Chocolate Zucchini Cake IV. This was my first time making these recipes, both were made in 9" x 13" pans, baked for 50 minutes and topped with homemade cream cheese icing. This recipe won hands down. People enjoyed how moist it was and the walnuts were a nice touch (from the other recipe which was somewhat dry and did not call for nuts). I personally enjoyed this recipe as well and will use it from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I loved that this made a nice, BIG cake. It fills a 13x9 pan well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States