Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I loved that this made a nice, BIG cake. It fills a 13x9 pan well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Excellent moist chocolatey zucchini cake. I made it in a bundt pan and it came out perfect! I love a fresh homemade cake that turns out well in high altitude and this one does. Making it again with a yellow zucchini. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Excellent -- & I did not adjust for high altitude
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
My friend keeps me supplied with fresh zucchini from her garden. Boy was I glad when I saw this recipe. For the most part I followed the recipe with the exception of the 1 1/2 C Oil. I substituted it for 1 Cup Chunky Cinnamon Apple Sauce and 1/2 C fresh Pear puree. It was sooo good. Very moist! I topped it with this sites Ganache II and sub the Bittersweet Chocolate with SemiSweet Chocolate Chips. It was KILLER Chocolate Cake! Thank you, Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I did as some did and replace part of the oil with applesauce, but it seemed still a little dry. So I put it in the refrigerator while it was still warm and it moistened it right up. Hubby loved this and he usually does not eat sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gale Klosterman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
All I can say is "Have Mercy"! I left out the nuts because my child has nut allergies but this was the most moist delicious chocolate cake I've ever eaten. Used a zuc from my garden. I did not grate the zucchini, but instead kinda chopped it and placed in the blender. Then I kinda squeeze what I took out and measured three cups. I'm making this again this weekend because I have to satisfy my chocolate cravings. Used 1 cup of oil and I'm going to try the idea of using choc chips instead of nuts, what the heck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Needs no frosting! This is a great cake! I followed others' advice -- I want to taste chocolate in a chocolate cake, not just sweetness and fatty frosting. I cut the sugar in half to 1 cup. To cut fat, I used unsweetened/natural applesauce to replace half the oil (i.e., 3/4 cup applesauce, 3/4 cup oil). I replaced nuts with chocolate chips, but that was just cuzza the nutty anti-nuts in the fam. I used a bundt pan and baked it for about 30 mins at 350, and then 15 more at 325. Skipped the frosting and just sifted powdered sugar over it for elegance. Looked and tasted sensational. Moist, chocolately, and simple. Bring it to any coffee or tea, or any get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I've made twice this récipe. The first time I followed the recipe and it turned out good, maybe to oily. The second time I only used 1 cup oil and that made a big difference. It turned out GREAT!!!! My kids (3 and 6) ate the whole thing in about 48 hours. Never found out there was zuchinni in it. Even with just 1 cup oil the cake is really moist, it doesn't really need any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This cake is amazing!! So tasty, so easy to make, very moist, and everyone loved it! It's a great way to use up extra zucchini from the garden. I also love the cinnamon in it. It's now my go-to chocolate cake! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanah Keller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I did not use cinnamon but added a teaspoon of vanilla and a tablespoon of "instant espresso" coffee. Excellent use of zucchini that have grown beyond the tender stage. If you peel the zukes before grating, no one will know that their rich chocolate cake contains the "green alien life form" (as one family member has labeled this versatile vegetable.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States