Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
This was so tasty. I used 1 cup of honey and I cup of xylitol to replace the sugar. Then I changed the flour to 1/2 cup Brown rice flour 1/2 cup sorghum flour 1/2 cup tapioca starch 1/2 cup potato starch and 2 tea spoons of xantham gum to make it gluten free. Was very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
My family devoured this cake- only made 1 change - added sour cream for 1/3 of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This was a wonderful use of the zucchini in the garden. It had a nice chocolate flavor and the walnuts was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Reduced oil to 3/4 cup and added 4 oz prune puree since that's what I had on hand instead of applesauce. Omitted nuts. Frosted with chocolate cream cheese frosting. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Very moist and yummy. I used whole wheat flour and added some semi-sweet chips, and substituted 1/2 cup of the oil for applesauce. It was still very moist and very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This was a great way to use up zucchini and very tasty. It's only fault is that, when it is without frosting, it tastes a lot like zucchini bread. Though what could I expect? :) It also bothered me that I could see bits of zucchini. Maybe I'll shred it finer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Excellent, moist cake. No one believes that there are 3 cups of zucchini in it. Made a few changes to make it healthier. I cut the sugar to 1 cup, added 1 cup of white flour, 1 cup of whole wheat flour, and cut the oil to 1/2 cup. Added 1 full cup of cocoa. I have made this cake 5 times and have added various glazes including chocolate, vanilla, and almond flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This cake is awesome! I have made it more than 10 times with several variations. As another person wrote, it is a versatile recipe. For the first time today I have replaced all the oil with buttermilk (1c. instead of 1 1/2c. and 1 less egg because it was moist enough). Usually I replace half of the oil with applesauce. One person commented on their cake being bitter. It could be the type of cocoa powder used. If you are an individual that isn't fond of cinnamon, leave it out. Or add a whole Tbsp. if you are a cinnamon lover like me. Expresso powder can be added to enhance the chocolate flavor if the cinnamon is left out. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jasonslady
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Left everything thing as is and it was delicious the only thing I did was add berries so I poured half of batter added raspberries and blackberries. Then the rest of batter. No one even knew it had zucchini in the cake till after when I told them lol. My fiancé even admitted it was really good even though he hates vegitables. I also used a cream cheese frosting on this and made strawberry flowers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasonslady
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Made for small group - Herb's birthday (2015) - liked it. Not too sweet. Added pecans because I had them. Added white chocolate chips - they disappeared - frosted with cream cheese frosting. Very pretty! Moist! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States